GOVERNMENT OF INDIA URBAN DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2035 ANSWERED ON:08.03.2011 BASIC INFRASTRUCTURE IN CITIES/TOWNS Adityanath Shri Yogi;Virendra Kumar Shri

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government proposes to formulate a scheme to provide basic infrastructure in cities located in various parts of the country;

(b) if so, the number of cities decided to be covered under the said scheme, State-wise including Madhya Pradesh;

(c) whether the Government proposes to provide basic facilities to cities/ small towns having population of 5 lakhs;

(d) if so, the details thereof; and

(e) the time by which cities are likely to be identified under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM)?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRI SAUGATA ROY)

(a) & (b): The Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) was launched on 3rd December, 2005 with the objective of reforms driven and fast track development of cities across the country, with focus on bringing about efficiency in urban infrastructure, service delivery mechanisms, community participation and accountability of Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) and Parastatal agencies towards citizens. 65 Cities based on population as per 2001 census are covered under the Urban Infrastructure & Governance (UIG) component of JNNURM. Details as annexed. The remaining cities are eligible for Additional Central Assistance (ACA) under Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT) subject to availability of funds.

(c) & (d): It was proposed to include the following 28 cities/urban agglomerations with population of 5 lakh and above under the UIG component of JNNURM:-

S.No. Name of the State Name of Town

1 Andhra Pradesh Guntur Warangal

2 Chattisgarh Durg-Bhilai Nagar

3 Gujarat Bhavnagar Jamnagar

4 Karnataka Belgaum

Hubli-Dharwad Mangalore

5 Kerala Kozhikode

6 Madhya Pradesh Gwalior

7 Maharashtra Amravati Aurangabad Bhiwandi Kolhapur Solapur
8 Orissa Cuttak
9 Punjab Jalandhar
10 Rajasthan Bikaner Jodhpur Kota
11 Tamilnadu Salem Tiruchirappalli Tiruppur

12 Uttar Pradesh Aligarh Bareilly Ghaziabad Gorakhpur Moradabad

On account of resource constraints, the Planning Commission and Ministry of Finance could not agree to include these cities under UIG of JNNURM.

(e): Does not arise in view of (c) & (d) above.