GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TRIBAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1436 ANSWERED ON:04.03.2011 WELFARE OF STS Patle Kamla Devi

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has established any apex body at national level for the all round development and security of tribals; and

(b) if so, the details thereof alongwith its constitution and functions assigned to it?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI MAHADEO SINGH KHANDELA)

(a) & (b): Yes, Madam. An apex body namely National Council for Tribal Welfare has been constituted with the following objectives:-

(i) To provide broad policy guidelines to bring about improvement in the lives of the ST community in the country. (ii) To review the implementation of the Forest Rights Act. (iii) To review the implementation of Schedule-V and Schedule-VI of the Constitution. (iv) To monitor the implementation of Tribal Sub-Plan.(v) To monitor programmes aimed at protecting Particularly vulnerable Tribal Groups.

The Council consists of the following members:-

- 1) Minister of Tribal Affairs, Government of India;
- 2) Minister of Finance, Government of India;
- 3) Minister of Agriculture, Government of India;
- 4) Minister of Home Affairs, Government of India;
- 5) Minister of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India;
- 6) Minister of Environment & Forests, Government of India;
- 7) Minister of HRD, Government of India;
- 8) Minister of Rural Development, Government of India;
- 9) Minister of Woman and Child Development, Government of India;
- 10) Minister of Culture, Government of India;
- 11) Minister of Mines, Government of India;
- 12) Minister of Coal, Government of India;
- 13) Minister of Power, Government of India;
- 14) Deputy Chairperson, Planning Commission;

15) Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh/ Gujarat/ Himachal Pradesh / Maharashtra / Rajasthan/ Orissa/ Jharkhand/ Madhya Pradesh/ Chhattisgarh/Assam /Meghalaya/ Mizoram/ Tripura (Schedule V and Schedule VI States);

16) Two experts to be nominated by the Prime Minister for a period of 2 years.

17) Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Government of India as Member Secretary.