GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:226 ANSWERED ON:22.02.2011 NATIONAL FOOD SECURITY MISSION

Harnsrajbhai Shri Radadiya Vitthalbhai ;Hussain Shri Syed Shahnawaz;Naranbhai Shri Kachhadia;Vasava Shri Mansukhbhai D.

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of the districts where the National Food Security Mission is under implementation in the country alongwith the crops and commodities covered therein, State-wise;
- (b) the details of funds sanctioned and released under the scheme, during each of the last three years, State-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has conducted any survey/study to assess the results/outcome of the scheme;
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether the Government has fixed any physical target under the scheme and if so, the time by which the targets are likely to be achieved; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES (SHRI ARUN YADAV)

(a) to (f): National Food Security Mission is being implemented in 476 districts of 17 States of the country. The mission was launched during the year 2007-08 with an objective of additional foodgrains production of 20 million tons i.e. 10 million tons of rice, 8 million tons of wheat and 2 million tons of pulses by the end of the eleventh plan(2011-12).

The crop-wise identified districts are as follows:

NFSM-Rice: NFSM-Rice is being implemented in 138 districts of 14 States, i.e., Andhra Pradesh (11 districts), Assam (13 districts), Bihar (18 districts), Chhattisgarh (10 districts), Gujarat (2 districts), Jharkhand (7 districts), Karnataka (7 districts), Kerala (1 district), Madhya Pradesh (9 districts), Maharashtra (6 districts), Orissa (15 districts), Tamil Nadu (5 districts), Uttar Pradesh (26 districts) and West Bengal (8 districts).

NFSM-Wheat: The NFSM-Wheat is being implemented in 141 districts of 9 States i.e. Bihar (25 districts), Gujarat (4 districts), Haryana (7 districts), Madhya Pradesh (30 districts), Maharashtra (8 districts), Punjab (10 districts), Rajasthan (15 districts), Uttar Pradesh (38 districts) and West Bengal (4 districts).

NFSM-Pulses: Under NFSM Pulses 467 districts of 16 states are included. All the districts in 14 states of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Gujarat, U.P, M.P, Maharashtra, W.B, Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, Orissa, Punjab, T.N, Karnataka and 10 districts of Assam and 15 districts of Jharkhand are included under NFSM-Pulses.

The details of funds sanctioned and released under the said scheme during each of the last three years are annexed (Annexure-I).

The process for midterm evaluation of the scheme to analyze the results/ outcomes of the mission by an independent agency has already been initiated as per the provision of the operational guidelines of the scheme.