GOVERNMENT OF INDIA FINANCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2952 ANSWERED ON:26.11.2010 POPPY CULTIVATION Semmalai Shri S.

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

(a) whether poppy cultivation takes place in areas not denotified by the government;

(b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise for last three years; and

(c) the steps taken in this regard?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE(SHRI S.S. PALANIMANICKAM)

(a) The Government does not `denotify` areas for poppy cultivation. Every year cultivation of poppy crop occurs in the areas notified by the Government in the States of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, for medical and scientific purposes, in line with the United Nations Conventions in the matter and under the strict administrative control of Central Bureau of Narcotics (CBN). A copy of the tract notification issued by the Government in respect of the crop year 2010-11, is enclosed.

(b) Details of the licenced area, cultivated area and harvested area in the 3 States mentioned above is enclosed herewith.

(c) The Government issues general conditions for grant of licence for each crop year, specifying the Minimum Qualifying Yield (MQY) to be tendered by the cultivators to be eligible for grant of licence, individual area to be licenced etc. All activities from licensing to tendering of opium produced to Government are administered by CBN.

MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE NOTIFICATION New Delhi the 29th September, 2010. NO. 02/2010-NARCOTICS CONTROL-1

G.S.R. 785(E) - In pursuance of rule 5 of the Narcotic Drugs & Psychotropic Substances Rules, 1985, the Central Government hereby notifies the tracts in the States of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh specified in the Table below as the tracts within which poppy may be cultivated on account of the Central Government during the opium crop year commencing on the 1st day of October, 2010 and ending on the 30th September, 2011. TABLE

DESIGNATION OF TRACTS

Name of Extent (Tehsil/Pargana) the Districts

PART I - STATE OF MADHYA PRADESH

```
Mandsaur Mandsaur, Dalauda, Sitamau, Suwasara, Malhargarh, Shamgarh,
Garoth, Bhanpura & Jawahar Lal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidhyalaya,
KNK College of Horticulture, Mandsaur (Experimental)
```

Neemuch Neemuch, Jawad, Manasa, Jeeran and Singoli

Ratlam Ratlam, Sailana, Jaora, Alot, Piploda

Ujjain Mahidpur, Khachrod, Nagda

Shajapur Barod, Susner

Rajgarh Jeerapur

PART - II STATE OF RAJASTHAN

Kota Ramganjmandi, Sangod & Ladpura

Baran Baran, Chhabra, Chhipabarod & Atru

- Jhalawar Jhalarapatan, Khanpur, Aklera, Manoharthana, Pachpahar, Pirawa and Gangdhar
- Chittorgarh Chittorgarh, Bhadesar, Dungla, Begun, Rawatbhata, Nimbahera, Badisadari, Gangrar, Kapasan & Rashmi

Pratapgarh Chhotisadari, Pratapgarh & Arnod

```
Udaipur Vallabhnagar, Mavali, Udaipur, Dhariyawad & Rajasthan
College of Agriculture, Udaipur (Experimental)
```

Bhilwara Mandalgarh, Bijoliya, Kotri, Jahajpur

PART-III - STATE OF UTTAR PRADESH

- Barabanki Nawabganj, Satrikh, Pratapganj, Dewa (Tehsil Nawabganj), Ramnagar (Tehsil Ramnagar), Haidergarh, Subeha (Tehsil Haidergarh), Kurshi, Fatehpur (Tehsil Fatehpur), Baddosarai, Sidhaur, Dariyabad (Teh. Sirauligauspur), Surajpur (Teh. Ram Sanehi Ghat).
- Faizabad Magalsi, (Tehsil Sohawal) Rudauli, Mawai, Basaudhi (Tehsil Rudauli), Rath, Khandasa, Acharya Narendra Dev Univeristy of Agriculture and Technology (ANDUAT) (Experimental) (Tehsil Bikapur)

Ghazipur Zamania (Tehsil Zamania)

Mau Nathoopur, Ghosi (Tehsil Ghosi)

```
Lucknow Mohanlalganj (Tehsil Mohanlalganj), National Botanical Research
Institute (NBRI), Lucknow(experimental) & Central Institute of
Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP) (Experimental),
(Tehsil Lucknow)
```

Bareilly Bareilly (Tehsil Bareilly), Sirauli (North) (Tehsil Meerganj), Ballia, Saneha, Sirauli, Aonla (Tehsil Aonla), Faridpur (Tehsil Faridpur)

Shahjahanpur Tilhar, Kheda Bajheda, Katra (Tehsil Tilhar), Kant (Tehsil Sadar) Jalalabad (Tehsil Jalalabad)

```
Budaun Salempur, Usait (Tehsil Dataganj), Kot, Islamnagar
(Tehsil Bilsi), Bisauli, Satasi (Tehsil Bisauli), Budaun,
Ujhani (Tehsil Budaun)
```

Aligarh Muslim University Aligarh (Experimental)

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2952 BYSHRIS. SEMMALAIFOR 26.11.2010.

Year Rajasthan Madhya Pradesh Uttar Pradesh Total

Area licensed (ha) 2009-10 10108 13009 308 23425 2008-09 4458 6556 6 11020 2007-08 1844 2830 6 4680

Area Cultivated (ha) 2009-10 7288 8294 273 15855 2008-09 4242 6055 5 10302 2007-08 1813 2768 5 4586

Area Harvested (ha) 2009-10 5554 6647 36 12237 2008-09 3594 5257 2 8853 2007-08 1131 1518 4 2653