## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2799 ANSWERED ON:26.11.2010 YATRI NIWAS Biswal Shri Hemanand

## Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Yatri Niwas in the country, State-wise including Orissa;
- (b) whether the Government has received any proposal to construct Yatri Niwas in various parts of the country during each of the last three years and the current year;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State-wise; and
- (d) the funds sanctioned and utilized by the State Governments during the said period?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TOURISM (SHRI SULTAN AHMED)

(a) to (d): Development of tourist infrastructure is primarily undertaken by the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations.

The scheme of the Ministry of Tourism for providing financial assistance for construction of Yatri Niwas has been discontinued from the 10th plan onwards.

The State-wise and location-wise details of the Yatri Niwas, including Orissa, sanctioned by Ministry of Tourism during the 8th and 9th Plan are at Annexure.

**ANNEXURE** 

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2799 ANSWERED ON 26.11.2010 REGARDING YATRI NIWAS.

PROJECTS SANCTIONED BY MINISTRY OF TOURISM FOR YATRI NIWAS DURING 8TH AND 9TH PLANS.

- SI. Name of the No. of Location No. State/UT Projects
- 1. Andaman & Nicobar 1 (i) Karmtang
- 2. Andhra Pradesh 7 (i) Arraku Valley
   (ii) Vishakapatnam
   (iii) Tirupati
   (iv) Yodagirigutta,
   (v) Horsely Hills
   (vi) Tirumala-Tirupathi
   (vii) Nagarjuna Sagar
- 4. Assam 3 (i) Barpeta (ii) Bhuban Hills, Silchar (iii) Batadrawa

```
5. Himachal Pradesh 4 (i) Deotridh (ii) Jawalamukhi
        (iii) Bharmour
        (iv) Dharamshala
6. Jammu & Kashmir 3 (i) Vaishno Devi
        (ii) Baba Rishi
        (iii) Patnitop
7. Karnataka 10 (i) Dharwar
        (ii) Gulbarga
        (iii) Bijapur
        (iv) Maravanthe
        (v) Udipi
        (vi) Hampi
        (vii) Hassan
        (vii) Yellammanagudda
        (ix) Sravanabelagola(x) Talakad, Mysore
8. Kerala 6 (i) Peerumedu
        (ii) Calicut
(iii) Malayattur
        (iv) Alleppey
        (v) Kondotti
(vi) Kumily
9. Madhya Pradesh 1 (i) Hossangabad
10. Maharashtra 1 (i) Jothiba, Kolhapur
11. Manipur 1 (i) Imphal
12. Orissa 4 (i) Puri
(ii) Chandipur
        (iii) Satpuda (Chilka Lake)
        (iv) Konark
13. Punjab 1 (i) Fatehgarh Sahib
```

14. Tamil Nadu 3 (i) Rameshwaram (ii) Samayapuram (iii) Tiruvananmalai

- 15. Uttarakhand 2 (i) Gauchar (ii) Guptkashi (Rudraprayag)
- 16. West Bengal 1 (i) New Jalpaiguri