GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:456
ANSWERED ON:10.11.2010
REGULATION FOR PROTECTION OF COASTAL ZONE
Agarwal Shri Jai Prakash;Panda Shri Baijayant;Pradhan Shri Nityananda

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has notified new regulation for protection of coastal zone;
- (b) if so, the salient features of the regulation;
- (c) the action plan undertaken by the Government for development of the vulnerable coastal areas State-wise including Orissa;
- (d) whether a high level expert committee on conservation of coastal ecology and environment has been set up or proposed to be set up; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS(SHRI JAIRAM RAMESH):

- (a) and (b): The Ministry of Environment and Forests has issued the draft Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) Notification, 2010 on 15th September, 2010 inviting suggestions and objections under Environment (Protection) Act, 1986. The salient features of this Notification include, hazard mapping to be incorporated in the Coastal Zone Management Plan preparation, inclusion of the water area upto territorial limits, streamlining of clearance procedures for projects attracting the CRZ Notification, special dispensation for Greater Mumbai, Kerala and Goa.
- (c): The draft CRZ Notification, 2010 provides for preparing an Integrated Management Plans for identified ecologically sensitive areas to be classified as a Critical Vulnerable Coastal Areas (CVCA). The indicative list of such CVCA's include, Gulf of Khambhat and Gulf of Kachchh in Gujarat, Malwan, Achra-Ratnagiri in Maharashtra, Vimbanad in Kerala including Bhitarkanika in Orissa.
- (d) and (e): While, there is no high level expert committee proposed under the draft CRZ Notification, 2010, the Ministry has constituted the National Coastal Zone Management Authority at the national level and State/Union territory level Coastal Zone Management Authority in each of the 13 coastal States and Union territories, under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 with a mandate to protect and conserve the coastal environment including enforcement of the Coastal Regulation Zone Notification, 1991.