# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3321 ANSWERED ON:28.07.2009 DIGITALISATION OF DOORDARSHAN STUDIOS Satpathy Shri Tathagata

#### Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Doordarshan (DD) Studio including digital Studios functioning in the country, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to digitalise more studios during the current year;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (d) whether the Government propose to carry Private TV channels on Doordarshan platform; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

## **Answer**

#### THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SHRI C. M. JATUA)

- (a) There are, at present, 66 Doordarshan Studio centers in the country. Out of these, 21 Studio centres are fully digital and 31 Studio centres are partially digital. State-wise number of above Studio centres is given at Annexure.
- (b) & (c) No, Sir. No DD Studio centre is being digitalized during the current year.
- (d) & (e) At present, there is no scheme to carry private TV channels on DD's terrestrial distribution system.

## **ANNEXURE**

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY PART (a) OF TO LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 3321 FOR ANSWER ON 28-07-2009.

### Doordarshan Kendras (Studio centers)

```
S.No State/UT Total Number Number of fully Number of partially
    existing digital Studio digital Studio Centres
    Studio Centres Centres (Out (Out of those in col.3)
      of those in col.3)
(1) (2)
        (3) (4)
                    (5)
1 Andhra Pradesh 3 1 1
2. Arunanchal Pradesh 1
3. Assam 4 1 3
4 Bihar 2 1 1
5 Chhattisgarh 2
                     1
6 Goa 1
7 Gujarat 2 1 1
8 Haryana 1 1
9 Himachal Pradesh 1
10 Jammu & Kashmir 4 2
11 Jharkhand 2 2
12 Karnataka 2 1 1
13 Kerala 3 1
14 Madhya Pradesh 3 1
15 Maharashtra 3 1
                 1
16 Manipur 1
17 Meghalaya 2
18 Mizoram 1 1
19 Nagaland 1 1
20 Orissa 3 1 1
```

```
21 Punjab 2 1
22 Rajasthan 1 1
23 Sikkim 1 1
24 Tamil Nadu 3 2
25 Tripura 1 1
26 Uttar Pradesh 7 2 3
27 Uttarakhand 1
28 West Bengal 3 1 1
29 A & N Islands 1 1
30 Chandigarh 1 1
31 Delhi 2 2
```