GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:472 ANSWERED ON:11.11.2010 MODEL RAILWAY STATION Jaiswal Shri Gorakh Prasad ;Sinh Dr. Sanjay

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the criteria for setting up a model railway station;

(b) the number of railway station fulfilling said criteria at present in Uttar Pradesh;

(c) whether many railway stations have not been upgraded as model stations in Uttar Pradesh despite fulfilling these criteria;

(d) the name of railway stations of Uttar Pradesh which have been upgraded into a model railway station so far; and

(e) the reason for non-availability of the facilities of model station in the station despite declaring them as model station?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI K. H. MUNIYAPPA)

(a): The 'Model Station' scheme was in vogue between June, 1999 and November, 2008. Initially, one station per Division of Indian Railways was selected under the scheme. In the year 2006, the criteria were revised to include all 'A' and 'B' category stations, on the basis of the annual passenger earnings, under the scheme.

(b) & (c): 82 stations fulfilled the criteria and were accordingly listed under the 'Model Station' scheme.

(d) & (e): Works for upgradation of identified railway stations under 'Model Station' scheme had been undertaken and so far following stations in Uttar Pradesh have been developed as Model Station as per norms:-

Chopan, Mughalsarai Jn., Renukut, Agra Cantt., Agra Fort, Aligarh, Allahabad, Banda, Chitrakootdham Karvi, Etawah, Fatehpur, Jhansi, Kanpur, Lalitpur, Mathura Jn., Mirzapur, Naini, Orai, Raja-ki-Mandi, Tundla, Allahabad City, Azamgarh, Badshah Nagar, Bahraich, Ballia, Barhni, Basti, Belthra Road, Bhatni Jn., Deoria Sadar, Farrukhabad Jn., Ghazipur City, Gonda Jn., Gorakhpur Jn., Izzatnagar, Kaimganj, Kasganj Jn., Katra (UP), Khalilabad, Lakhimpur, Lucknow City, Lucknow Jn., Manduadih, Mau Jn., Pilibhit Jn., Rawatpur, Salempur Jn., Sitapur, Varnasi City, Ayodhya, Baghpat Road, Barabanki, Baraut, Bareilly, Chandausi, Faizabad, Garh Muktesar, Hapur, Hardoi, Lucknow, Moradabad, Najibabad, Rae-Bareli Jn., Rampur, Saharanpur Jn., Shahjahanpur, Unnao and Varanasi.