## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4534 ANSWERED ON:20.08.2010 SOLAR CITIES Mitra Shri Somendra Nath;Singh Shri Jagada Nand

### Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has received proposals from various State Governments including Bihar for the development of solar cities;

(b) if so, the details thereof alongwith the number of proposals sanctioned and still pending for approval of the Union Government;

(c) whether any financial, technical and foreign assistance has been taken by the Government for developing these cities in the country;

(d) if so, the details thereof; and

(e) the Budget provision made in the Eleventh Five Year Plan for incurring expenditure for the development of these cities in the country?

# Answer

### THE MINISTER OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY(DR. FAROOQ ABDULLAH)

(a)&(b): Based on proposals received by the Government from various States, 'in-principle' approval has been given to 43 cities to be developed as solar cities in the country. Out of these, financial sanctions have been issued to 16 cities which have engaged consultants for preparation of Master Plans. The State-wise details are given in Annexure. No proposal has been received from Government of Bihar for the development of solar city. Also, no other proposal submitted as per the scheme is pending with the Ministry.

(c)&(d): No, Madam.

(e): A budget provision of Rs.49.50 crore has been made for development of 60 solar cities in the country including two model solar cities during the Eleventh Five Year Plan.

#### Annexure

Annexure referred to in reply to Parts (a)&(b) of the Lok Sabha unstarred question no. 4534 by Shri Jagadanand Singh and Shri Somen Mitra for answer on 20.08.2010

State-wise list of 43 Cities for which in-principle approval has been given and 16 Cities (with mark) for which financial sanctions have been issued.

State Cities for which in-principle approval given

Andhra Pradesh 1. Vijaywada
Assam 2. Guwahati
3. Jorhat
Arunachal Pradesh 4. Itanagar
Chandigarh 5. Chandigarh#
Chhattisgarh 6. Bilaspur#
7. Raipur#
Gujarat 8. Rajkot#

```
9. Gandhinagar#
```

10. Surat Goa 11. Panji City# Haryana 12. Gurgaon# 13. Faridabad# Himachal Pradesh 14. Shimla 15. Hamirpur Karnataka 16. Mysore 17. Hubli Kerala 18. Thiruvananthapuram Maharashtra 19. Nagpur# 20. Thane# 21. Kalyan-Dombiwali# 22. Aurangabad 23. Nanded Madhya Pradesh 24. Indore 25. Gwalior 26. Bhopal Manipur 27 Imphal# Mizoram 28 Aizawl Nagaland 29. Kohima# 30. Dimapur Orissa 31. Bhubaneswar Punjab 32. Amritsar 33. Ludhiana Rajsthan 34. Ajmer 35. Jaipur 36. Jodhpur Tamil Nadu 37. Coimbatore Tripura 38. Agartala Uttarakhand 39. Dehradun# 40. Haridwar&Rishikesh 41. Chamoli-Gopeshwar Uttar Pradesh 42. Agra# 43. Moradabad#

# Financial Sanctions issued for these cities and Master Plans are under preparation.