GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4772
ANSWERED ON:25.08.2010
APPOINTMENT OF LOKAYUKTAS
Muttemwar Shri Vilas Baburao;Ray Shri Rudramadhab

Will the Minister of PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS be pleased to state:

` '				

- (b) whether the Union Government is considering to issue Advisory to the States not having Lokayukta to appoint them and to ensure their proper functioning;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;

(a) the names of States having Lokavukta:

- (d) whether there is no uniform system of Lokayukta status as framed by different States and the system has not yielded the desired results;
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor;
- (f) whether Senior Bureaucrats, MPs, MLAs and other legislatures have been kept out of the purview of Lokayuktas;
- (g) if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (h) the Jurisdiction and terms and conditions of Lokayuktas in this regard?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE (Independent Charge) IN THE MINISTRY OF SCIENCE and TECHNOLOGY; MINISTER OF THE STATE (Independent Charge) IN THE MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCE; MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE PRIME'S MINISTER OFFICE; MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS; AND MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI PRITHVIRAJ CHAVAN)

- (a): A list of States having Lokayukta is annexed.
- (b): No, Sir.
- (c): Does not arise.
- (d) to (h): The Lokayukta at the State level falls in the domain of the State Governments. Therefore, it is for the State Government concerned to take a view in the matter. The jurisdiction, terms and conditions of Lokayuktas vary from State to State. While government servants are under the purview of all Lokayuktas, only some cover elected representatives.

ANNEXURE

LIST OF STATES HAVING LOKAYUKTA

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Bihar
- 3. Chhatisgarh

6.	Karnataka			
7.	Kerala			
8. 1	Madhya Pradesh			
9. 1	Maharashtra			
10.	. Orissa			
11.	. Uttaranchal			
12.	. Uttar Pradesh			
13.	. West Bengal			
14.	. NCT of Delhi.			

4. Haryana

5. Himachal Pradesh