GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4500 ANSWERED ON:20.08.2010 TOURISM POLICY Rawat Shri Ashok Kumar

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the State Governments which have prepared a new tourism policy to develop tourist places and attract maximum number of foreign tourists in their respective States;
- (b) whether the Government has approved the said policies of the State Governments; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TOURISM (SHRI SULTAN AHMED)

(a) to (c): Development and promotion of tourism, including formulation of tourism policy in States/Union Territories is primarily the responsibility of the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations. Ministry of Tourism offers comments on the draft tourism policies of States/ UTs, if referred to it. However, State/UTs do not need approval of Ministry of Tourism for their tourism policies.

As per the latest information available with the Ministry of Tourism, the status of tourism policies in different States/ UTs is given in the Annexure.

ANNEXURE

1 Andhra Pradesh

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †4500 ANSWERED ON 20.08.2009 REGARDING TOURISM POLICY

New Tourism Policy formulated in 2006-07

S. No State/UT Status of New Tourism Policy

30 Chandigarh Tourism Action Plan Formulated 31 Delhi No old/ existing Tourism Policy

2 Arunachal Pradesh Tourism Policy formulated in 2003

```
3 Assam Tourism Policy formulated in 2008
4 Bihar Tourism Policy prepared in July 2009
5 Chhattisgarh Tourism Policy formulated in 2002
6 Goa Tourism Policy formulated in 2001
7 Gujarat Tourism policy formulated in 2003
8 Haryana Tourism Policy formulated in 2008
9 Himachal Pradesh New Tourism Policy formulated in 2005
10 J&K No new Tourism policy formulated
11 Jharkhand Tourism Policy under finalization
12 Karnataka Tourism Policy for 2009-14 formulated
13 Kerala Tourism Vision formulated in 2002
14 Madhya Pradesh New Tourism Policy formulated in 1995
15 Maharashtra New Tourism Policy formulated in 2006
16 Manipur Tourism Policy under formulation
17 Meghalaya Tourism Policy formulated in 2001
18 Mizoram No Tourism Policy formulated
19 Nagaland Tourism Policy formulated in 2001
20 Orissa New Tourism Policy under formulation
21 Punjab Tourism Policy formulated in 2003
22 Rajasthan Tourism Policy formulated in 2001
23 Sikkim Tourism Policy under formulation
24 Tamil Nadu Tourism Policy under formulation
25 Tripura No Tourism Policy formulated
26 Uttar Pradesh New Tourism Policy under formulation
27 Uttrakhand New Tourism Policy formulated in 2001
28 West Bengal New Tourism Policy formulated in 2008
29 Andaman & Nicobar No new Tourism Policy formulated
```

32 Dadar & Nagar Haveli No separate Tourism Policy formulated

- 33 Daman & Diu No Tourism Policy formulated 34 Lakshadweep New Tourism Policy under formulation 35 Puducherry No new Tourism Policy prepared