## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2929 ANSWERED ON:11.08.2010 DESALINATION PLANTS BY NIOT Sayeed Muhammed Hamdulla A. B.

## Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has identified sites in Lakshadweep for setting up of desalination plants by National Institute of Ocean Technology (NIOT);

(b) if so, the details thereof, Island-wise with capacity including Agatti;

(c) the funds allocated for the purpose, Island-wise; and

(d) the time by which all the islands of Lakshadweep are likely to be covered by NIOT?

## Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES, MINISTER OF STATE IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE, MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES & PENSIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI PRITHVIRAJ CHAVAN)

(a) & (b) Yes, Madam. The Government has identified a total of 9 locations in the islands of Lakshadweep, for setting of desalination Plants by National Institute of Ocean Technology (NIOT), an autonomous body of the Ministry of Earth Sciences. This desalination technology has been indigenously designed, developed and demonstrated for conversion of sea water into potable water based on Low Temperature Thermal Desalination System (LTTD). So far one plant was commissioned in Kavaratti, Lakshadweep in May 2005. The work has been underway for setting up 3 more LTTD desalination plants one each in Agatti, Minicoy and Andrott. The remaining 5 islands viz., Chetlat, Kadmat, Kiltan, Kalpeni, and Amini will be taken up after successful commissioning of the first set of 3 plants through public-private partnership. The production capacity of freshwater for each of the proposed plant is one lakh litre per day.

(c) The funds to a tune of Rs. 26.60 crores have been allocated for 3 islands (Agatti, Minicoy and Andrott) whereas an allocation of Rs 32.68 crores has been made for the remaining 5 islands (Chetlat, Kadmat, Kiltan, Kalpeni, and Amini).

(d) The time frame for completion of two plants viz., Agatti and Minicoy would be May 2011. The remaining six islands are targeted by the end of current Five Year Plan (March, 2012)