# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1868 ANSWERED ON:05.08.2010 LPG FILLING PLANTS Rawat Shri Ashok Kumar

## Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) the area-wise details of LPG filling plants of various oil companies set up and to be set up till date;
- (b) whether LPG filling plant has been set up by Indian Oil Corporation in Bokaro; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof along with its current status thereof?

## **Answer**

### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM & NATURAL GAS(SHRI JITIN PRASADA)

(a) : As on 01.08.2010, Public Sector Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) are operating 181 LPG bottling plants. The State-wise list of existing bottling plants is at Annex.

LPG /bottling plants are set up by OMCs on the basis of techno-economic feasibility after taking into consideration the demand potential of packed LPG.

One bottling plant at Vadodara(Gujarat) has been completed and is expected to be commissioned during 2010-11. In addition to this, four bottling plants one each at Anantpur (Andhra Pradesh), Muzzafarpur (Bihar), Hazira (Gujarat) and Bhatinda (Punjab) are at various stages of construction.

Five more new LPG bottling plants have been planned to be set up by the OMCs. The location-wise/State-wise details are as under :-

```
Ranchi (Jharkhand) 1

Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) 1

Kolhapur (Maharashtra) 1

Kozikode (Kerala) 1

Salem (Tamil Nadu) 1
```

Location & Name of States Number of Bottling Plants

(b) & (c): Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOC) has set up a bottling plant at Bokaro with a capacity of 30 Thousand Metric Tonnes Per Annum (TMTPA). The bottling plant is presently operational and is supplying packed LPG to various markets of Jharkhand State and some markets of Bihar State.

#### ANNEX

DETAILS OF LPG BOTTLING PLANTS IN THE COUNTRY AS ON 01.08.2010.

Sl. No. State/Uts Number of bottling plants

- Andhra Pradesh 12
   Arunachal Pradesh 1
   Assam 6
   Bihar 5
  - 5. Chhattisgarh 2
  - 6. Delhi 2
  - 7 Goa 2
  - 8. Gujarat 10
  - 9. Haryana 6
  - 10. Himachal Pradesh 2
  - 11. Jammu & Kashmir 4
  - 12. Jharkhand 4
  - 13. Karnataka 10
  - 14. Kerala 7
  - 15. Madhya Pradesh 7
  - 16. Maharashtra 19
  - 17. Manipur 1
  - 18. Mizoram 1
  - 19. Nagaland 1
  - 20. Orissa 4
  - 21. Punjab 5
  - 22. Rajasthan 11
  - 23. Sikkim 1
  - 24. Tamil Nadu 17
  - 25. Tripura 1
  - 26. Uttar Pradesh 27
  - 27. Uttarakhand 2
  - 28. West Bengal 9
  - 29. Andaman & Nicobar 1

TOTAL 181