GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3775 ANSWERED ON:19.04.2010 SETTING UP OF TELECOM CIRCLES Sardinha Shri Francisco

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

(a) the number Telecom Circles in the country, as on date, State-wise;

(b) the name of States which do not have separate Telecom Circles in the country, State-wise; and

(c) the time by which separate Telecom Circles will be provided in all the States of the country?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY QF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI GURUDAS KAMAT)

(a) Madam, BSNL is having 26 (twenty-six) territorial Telecom Circles (including two Telephones Districts of Kolkata and Chennai) in the country as on date. MTNL is having two telecom circles in Delhi and Mumbai. The details of Territorial Telecom Circles covering the states/ UT in the country are given below:-

SI. No Name of States/UT in the country Name of the Territorial Telecom Circle

BSNL

- 1 Andaman & Nicobar islands (UT) Andaman & Nicobar Circle
- 2 Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Circle
- 3 Assam Assam Circle
- 4 Bihar Bihar Circle
- 5 Chattisgarh Chattisgarh Circle
- 6 Gujarat Gujarat Circle
- 7 Haryana Haryana Circle
- 8 Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Circle
- 9 Iharkhand Jharkhand Circle
- 10 lammu & Kashmir 🛛 Jammu & Kashmir Circle
- 11 Karnataka Karnataka Circle
- 12 Kerala Kerala Circle

```
13 Maharashtra
              Maharashtra Circle
14 Goa
15 Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Circle
16 Mizoram North East -I Circle, HQ at
17 Tripura Shillong (Meghalaya)
18 Meghalaya
19 Nagaland
             North East -II Circle, HQ at
20 Arunachal Pradesh Dimapur
21 Manipur
22 Orissa
            Orissa Circle
23 Punjab Punjab Circle
24 Rajasthan Rajasthan Circle
25 Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu Circle
     Chennai Telephones District
26 West Bengal Kolkata Telephones District
     West Bengal Circle
27 Sikkim
28 Uttar Pradesh UP (East) Circle
     UP (West) Circle
29 Uttrakhand Uttrakhand Circle
MTNL
1 Delhi Delhi circle
```

2 Mumbai Mumbai circle

Note: Rest of the Union Territories (UT) are covered under telecom circles as per list given in reply to para, (b) below.

(b) The name of States/ Union Territories which are not having separate Telecom Circle of BSNL are as given below, along with the name of telecom circle in which these are presently covered (indicated within the bracket):-

Goa state (in Maharashtra Telecom Circle) # Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura (in NE-I Telecom Circle) # Manipur, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh (in NE-II Telecom Circle) # Sikkim (in West Bengal Telecom Circle) # UT Puduchery (in Tamilnadu Telecom Circle) # UT Daman & DIU, Dadra and Nagar Havelli (in Gujarat Telecom Circle) # UT Lakshadweep (in Kerala Telecom Circle) # UT Chandigarh (in Punjab Telecom Circle)

(c): At present there is no proposal for creation of any further Telecom Circle for states/ UT's not having a separate telecom circle.