GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5540 ANSWERED ON:29.04.2010 GAS RESERVES FOUND BY RELIANCE COMPANY Meghe Shri Datta Raghobaji

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Reliance Company has found Gas reserves for the third time in the Krishna Godavari Basin in the Bay of Bengal;
- (b) if so, the time by which the said gas is likely to be supplied into the market;
- (c) whether the company has found gas reserves anywhere else also; and
- (d) the names of other places where gas and oil reserves are being explored in the country?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas (SHRI JITIN PRASADA)

- (a) and (b): M/s Reliance Industries Ltd. (RIL) has made 28 hydrocarbon discoveries in KG Basin during the period (2002-2010), out of which 24 are gas discoveries and 4 are oil/gas discoveries. Commercial production of gas has commenced from D1 & D3 gas discoveries in KG-DWN-98/3 block w.e.f 01-04-2009. Further, associated gas is also being produced from the MA oil field in this block. The remaining discoveries are under evaluation / appraisal to assess the commerciality. Development of these discoveries and subsequent gas production will depend upon extent of their commercial viability and approval of Field Development Plans.
- (c): Yes Madam. Apart from KG Basin, RIL has so far made another 13 hydrocarbon discoveries in other areas. Out of these, 10 are gas discoveries and 3 are oil/gas discoveries. The details are as under.

```
Block Basin/Area Gas Discovery Oil/Gas Discovery

NEC-OSN-97/2 North East Coast 8 -

SR-OS-94/1 Saurashtra Offshore 1 -

GS-OSN-2000/1 Gujarat Saurashtra Offshore 1 -

CY-DWN-2001/2 Cauvery Deepwater - 1

CB-ONN-2003/1 Gujarat - 2
```

(d): The exploration activities for oil and gas are currently ongoing in East Coast & West Coast Offshore shallow and Deepwater Areas and on-shore in the States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, Mizoram, Nagaland, West Bengal, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Tamilnadu and Himachal Pradesh.