GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:306 ANSWERED ON:16.04.2010 DEVELOPMENT OF TOURISM

Ramshankar Dr. ;Swamygowda Shri N Cheluvaraya Swamy

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the tourism projects received by the Union Government from various State Governments for the grant of central financial assistance, State- wise;
- (b) the follow-up action taken thereon, state-wise;
- (c) whether the Union Government proposes to allocate additional funds to the State Governments for the development of tourism in the country;
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State-wise; and
- (e) the steps taken by the Union Government to boost tourism in the country?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TOURISM (KUMARI SELJA)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the table of the Sabha.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 306 ANSWERED ON 16.04.2010 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT OF TOURISM.

- (a) to (d): Development of tourism is primarily undertaken by the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations. Ministry of Tourism, however, provides financial assistance for tourism projects on the basis of proposals received from them subject to availability of funds and inter-se priority. State/Union Territory wise details of projects sanctioned by Ministry of Tourism for development and promotion of tourism during the first three years of Eleventh Five Year Plan is at Annexure.
- (e): The steps taken by the Union Government to boost tourism in the country include development and promotion of caravan, heliport and convention centres under the Scheme of Product/Infrastructure Development for Destinations and Circuits, Incredible India publicity campaigns in international and domestic markets, broad basing of hospitality education, introduction of Market Development Assistance for Medical, Wellness and MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences and Exhibitions) Tourism and introduction of visa on arrival for tourists from five countries namely: Singapore, Finland, New Zealand, Luxembourg and Japan on a pilot basis for a period of one year.