## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:774 ANSWERED ON:02.03.2010 CENTRAL AGRICULTURAL UNIVERSITY Singh Shri Bhupendra ;Sugavanam Shri E.G.

## Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the places in the country where Central Agricultural Universities (CAUs) and State Agricultural Universities (SAUs) are functioning at present;

(b) the norms regarding setting up of Agricultural Universities;

(c) whether the Government proposes to set up more Central Agricultural Universities in the country in the coming years;

(d) if so, the details thereof;

(e) if not, the reasons therefor;

(f) whether Agricultural Universities are taking steps in promoting farming, research and development, etc.; and

(g) if so, the details thereof?

## Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION(PROF. K.V. THOMAS)

(a) At present one Central Agricultural University at Imphal, and 45 State Agricultural Universities at Jorhat, Hyderabad, Tirupati, Venkataramnagudem Pusa-Samastipur, Raipur, Anand, Junagadh, Navsari, Sardarkrushinagar, Hisar, Plampur, Solan, Jammu, Srinagar, Ranchi, Bangalore, Dharwad, Raichur, Bidar, Bagalkot, Jabalpur (2), Gwalior, Depoli, Nagpur, Parbhani, Rahuri, Akola, Bhubaneswar, Ludhiana (2), Udaipur, Bikaner, Coimbatore, Chennai, Kanpur, Mathura, Faizabad, Meerut, Pantnagar, Mohanpur, Coochbehar, and Kolkata are functioning in the country. In addition, 5 Agricultural Research Institutes at Allahabad, New Delhi, Izatnagar, Karnal and Mumbai are Deemed to be Universities and 4 Central Universities at Aligarh, Varanasi, Shantiniketan and Medziphema have Faculty of Agriculture.

(b) Agriculture including higher agricultural education being a state subject, the State Agricultural Universities are established by the respective State governments through their legislative acts to address the research, education and extension education needs of the State/region. The Central Agricultural University at Imphal, has been established by an act of Parliament.

(c) & (d): Proposals for establishment of three Central Agricultural Universities at Barapani in Meghalya; Pusa in Bihar and Jhansi in Bundelkhand are under consideration of the Central Government.

(e) Does not arise.

(f) & (g): Yes, Madam. Agricultural education, research and extension education are integrated activities of the agricultural universities.