GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:173
ANSWERED ON:23.02.2010
NATIONAL FOOD SECURITY MISSION
Rajesh Shri M. B.;Vinay Kumar Alias Vinnu Shri

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of districts included in National Food Security Mission (NFSM), State-wise;
- (b) the allocation made and spent under the Mission, State-wise;
- (c) the details of the achievements made alongwith the increase registered in foodgrain production since the inception of the Mission, State-wise:
- (d) whether the Government had made any review of the Mission; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION(PROF. K.V. THOMAS)

(a): The National Food Security Mission (NFSM) is presently being implemented in 312 identified districts of 17 States of the country. The component-wise identified districts are as follows:

The National Food Security Mission-Rice (NFSM-Rice) is being implemented in 136 districts of 14 States, i.e., Andhra Pradesh (11 districts), Assam (13 districts), Bihar(18 districts), Chhattisgarh (10 districts), Gujarat (2 districts), Jharkhand (5 districts), Karnataka (7 districts), Kerala (1 district), Madhya Pradesh (9 districts), Maharashtra (6 districts), Orissa (15 districts), Tamil Nadu (5 districts), Uttar Pradesh (26 districts) and West Bengal (8 districts).

The National Food Security Mission –Wheat (NFSM-Wheat) is being implemented in 141 districts of 9 States i.e. Bihar (25 districts), Gujarat (4 districts), Haryana (7 districts), Madhya Pradesh (30 districts), Maharashtra (8 districts), Punjab (10 districts), Rajasthan (15 districts), Uttar Pradesh (38 districts) and West Bengal (4 districts).

The National Food Security Mission –Pulses (NFSM-Pulses) is being implemented in 171 identified districts in 14 States i.e., Andhra Pradesh (14 districts), Bihar (13 districts), Chhattisgarh (8 districts), Gujarat (11 districts), Haryana (5 districts), Karnataka (13 districts), Madhya Pradesh (20 districts), Maharashtra (18 districts), Orissa (10 districts), Punjab (7 districts), Rajasthan (16 districts), Tamil Nadu (12 districts), Uttar Pradesh (19 districts) and West Bengal(5 districts).

From the year 2010-11, the States of Assam (10 districts) and Jharkhand (15 districts) would be included under NFSM-Pulses making the total number of districts covered under NFSM-Pulses to 196 with over all districts to 327 under NFSM.

- (b): The Statement showing the State-wise allocations made and funds released, so far, to various States under NFSM during 2009-10 is at Annexure-I.
- (c): The focused and target oriented technological intervention under NSFM has made a significant impact since inception which is reflected by the fact that during the year 2006-07, the production of Rice was recorded at 93.35 million tones which increased to 99.18 million tonnes during 2008-09 showing an increase of 5.83 million tonnes.

Similarly, the situation is promising in case of Wheat, wherein its production during 2006-07 was recorded at 75.81 million tones which increased to 80.68 million tones during 2008-09, showing an increase of 4.87 million tones.

As regards Pulses, production of various pulses crops was recorded as 14.20 million tones during 2006-07 which was increased to the level of 14.57 million tones during 2008-09 constituting an increase of 0.37 million tones.

(d) & (e): Scheme is regularly monitored by the governing bodies as per the guidelines at the National, State and the District levels.