COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

(FIFTH LOK SABHA)

TWENTIETH REPORT

(Presented on the 31st August, 1976)



LOK SABHA SECRETARIAT NEW DELHI

August, 1976/Bhadra, 1898 (Saka)

Price : Re. 0.20

CONTENTS

				PAGE
ı.	Personnel of the Committee of Privileges	•	•	(iii)
2.	Report .	•		I
3	Minutes of sitting of Committee .			3

PERSONNEL OF THE COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES (1976-77)

Shri N. K. P. Salve-Chairman

MEMBERS

- 2. Shri Chakleshwar Singh
- 3. Shri Somnath Chatteriee
- 4. Shri H. R. Gokhale
- 5. Shri Indrajit Gupta
- 6. Shri Vikram Mahajan
- 7. Shri Aravinda Bala Pajanor
- 8. Kumari Maniben Vallabhbhai Patel
- 9. Shri Natwarlal Patel
- 10. Shri K. Raghu Ramaiah
- 11. Shri Vayalar Ravi
- 12. Shrimati Maya Ray
- 13. Shri Arjun Sethi
- 14. Dr. H. P. Sharma
- 15. Shri R. P. Ulaganambi

SECRETARIAT

Shri J. R. Kapur-Chief Legislative Committee Officer.

TWENTIETH REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES (FIFTH LOK SABHA)

- I, the Chairman of the Committee of Privileges, having been authorised by the Committee to submit the Report on their behalf, present this their Twentieth Report to the House on the action taken by the Government on the recommendation contained in paragraph 49 of their Seventeenth Report presented to the House on the 27th January, 1976, regarding the harassment and ill-treatment meted out to Shri Ajit Kumar Saha, M.P., by certain Railway staff, Police and others at Asansol Railway Station on the 29th June, 1972.
- 2. The Committee, in paragraph 49 of their Seventeenth Report, presented to the House on the 27th January, 1976, had recommended inter alia as follows:—
 - "The Committee express their displeasure on the conduct of the concerned Railway and Police officers and recommend that suitable Departmental action be taken by the Government against them and reported to the House as early as possible."
 - (i) Action taken by the Ministry of Home Affairs
- 3. The Ministry of Home Affairs have on the 6th July, 1976, forwarded a copy of letter dated the 26th June, 1976 received by them from the Government of West Bengal in which the State Government have intimated inter alia as follows:—
 - "....Sub-Inspector, A. Bhattacharjee, the then Officer Commanding of Government Railway Police Station, Asansol, has been awarded a reprimand and Sub-Inspector Satinath Banerjee (2nd Officer) and Assistant Sub-Inspector, A. T. Mahapatra of the same Government Railway Police Station have been censured for their failure to ascertain the factual basis of the complaint with directions to be very cautious in future in dealing with such incidents specially when V.I.Ps, are concerned or involved."

(ii) Action taken by the Ministry of Railways

- 4. The Ministry of Railways have in a communication dated the 20th August, 1976, intimated as follows:—
 - "....following punishments have been imposed on the Railway staff concerned in this case as a result of departmental action taken by the competent authority:—

Name

1. Shri D. B. Banerjee, the then acting Head Ticket Collector.

 Shri R. N. Chowdhury, Travelling Ticket Examiner.

3. Shri B. D. Singh, Ticket Collector.

4. Shri Upkar Singh, Ticket Collector.

Punishment

Punished with stoppage of increment for one year (noncumulative).

Censured.

The disciplinary authority having accepted the defence that they were working under the instructions of the Head Ticket Collector and had not entered the waiting room, has exonerated them from the charges."

5. The Committee, at their sitting held on the 30th August, 1976, noted the action taken by Government on the recommendation contained in paragraph 49 of their Seventeenth Report.

N. K. P. SALVE, Chairman,

Dated the 30th August, 1976.

Committee of Privileges.

MINUTES OF THE SITTING OF THE COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES HELD ON MONDAY, THE 30TH AUGUST, 1976.

The Committee sat from 10.15 to 11.00 hours.

PRESENT

Shri N. K. P. Salve-Chairman

MEMBERS

- 2. Shri Chakleshwar Singh
- 3. Shri Natwarlal Patel
- 4. Shrimati Maya Ray
- 5. Shri Ariun Sethi
- 6. Dr. H. P. Sharma

SECRETARIAT

Shri J. R. Kapur-Chief Legislative Committee Officer.

3. The Chairman then apprised the Committee of the following action taken by the Ministry of Home Affairs and the Ministry of Railways on the recommendation contained in paragraph 49 of the Seventeenth Report of the Committee presented to the House on the 27th January, 1976, regarding the harassment and ill-treatment meted out to Shri Ajit Kumar Saha, M.P. by certain Railway Staff, Police and others at Asansol Railway Station on the 29th June, 1972:—

(i) Action taken by the Ministry of Home Affairs

The Ministry of Home Affairs have on the 6th July, 1976, forwarded a copy of letter dated the 26th June, 1976 received by them from the Government of West Bengal in which the State Government have intimated *inter alia* as follows:—

"... Sub-Inspector, A. Bhattacharjee, the then Officer Commanding of Government Railway Police Station, Asansol, has been awarded a reprimand and Sub-Inspector Satinath Banerjee (2nd Officer) and Assistant Sub-Inspector, A.T.

^{* * *} Para 2 relates to another case and has, accordingly, been omitted.

Mahapatra of the same Government Railway Police Station have been censured for their failure to ascertain the factual basis of the complaint with directions to be very cautious in future in dealing with such incidents specially when V.I.Ps are concerned or involved."

(ii) Action taken by the Ministry of Railways

The Ministry of Railways have in a communication dated the 20th August, 1976, intimated as follows:—

"....following punishments have been imposed on the Railway Staff concerned in this case as a result of departmental action taken by the competent authority:—

Name

Shri D. B. Banerjee, the then acting Head Ticket Collector

Shri R. N. Chowdhury, Travelling Ticket Examiner.

- 3. Shri B. D. Singh, Ticket Collector.
- 4. Shri Upkar Singh, Ticket Collector.

Punishment

Punished with stoppage of increment for one year (noncumulative).

Censured.

The disciplinary authority having accepted the defence that they were working under the instructions of the Head Ticket Collector and had not entered the waiting room, has exonerated them from the charges."

The Committee authorised the Chairman to finalise the Report on the matter and to present it to the House on the 31st August, 1976. The Committee also authorised Shrimati Maya Ray and Dr. H. P. Sharma, in the absence of the Chairman, to present the Report to the House.

The Committee then adjourned.