GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:254
ANSWERED ON:24.02.2010
ROAD MAP FOR CARBON GROWTH
Deora Shri Milind Murli

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has asked the Planning Commission to set up a Group of Expert to draw a road map for low carbon growth;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the composition of the Expert Group and the time by which it is likely to be formed; and
- (d) the terms of reference of the group and the time by which the group is expected to submit its Report?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS(SHRI JAIRAM RAMESH)

- (a)&(b) The Planning Commission has constituted an Expert Group for preparing a strategy for a Low Carbon Economy for India.
- (c) The Expert Group was constituted on 7 January 2010 and its composition is Annexed.
- (d) The Expert group shall, inter alia; review existing studies on low carbon growth/low carbon pathways for India prepared by various organizations, conduct further analyses, as required, to asses various low carbon option for the Indian economy, and present a report outlining the roadmap for India low carbon growth. The group would evaluate some key alternative low carbon option with an analysis of their cost-benefit and relative merits and demerits, and prepare an Action Plan along with a suggested timeline and targets starting 2011, that can feed into the Twelfth Plan process. The group will present an Interim report by end April, 2010 and a final report by end September, 2010.

Annex

Composition of Expert Group

Chairman

1. Kirit Parikh

Members

- 2. Nitin Desai, former under Secretary General, Economic & Social Affairs, UN
- 3. Ajay Mathur, Bureau of Energy Efficiency,
- 4. Rakesh Nath, Central Electricity Authority,
- 5. R.S. Paroda, former DG,ICAR,
- 6. Amit Mitra, FICCI,
- 7 Chandrajit Banerjee, CII,
- 8. Jamshed Irani, Tata Sons,
- 9. Jamshed Godrej, Cll Climate Change Council,
- 10. Pavan Goenka, SIAM,
- 11. Tulsi Tanti, Suzlon Energy,

- 12. Deepak Puri, Moser Baer,
- 13. Prem C Jain, Green Building Council,
- 14. Anand Patwardhan, IIT Mumbai,
- 15. Ambuj Sagar, IIT, Delhi
- 16. Navroz Dubash, Centre for Policy Research,
- 17. D. Raghunandan, Delhi Science Forum,
- 18. Anshu Bharadwaj, C-STEP,
- 19. Girish Sant, Prayas,
- 20. Ritu Mathur, TERI,
- 21. S.C. Sharma, Planning Commission,
- 22. Somona Bhattacharya, NATCOM Secretariat,
- 23. Jagdish Kishwan, PCCF,
- 24. U. Sankar, Madras School of Economics,
- 25. Varad Pande, Ministry of Environment & Forests,

Convenor

26. Arunish Chawla, Planning Commission.