GOVERNMENT OF INDIA POWER LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2576 ANSWERED ON:04.12.2009 TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION LOSSES Mahtab Shri Bhartruhari

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) the details of transmission and distribution losses in the country during 2007-08,2008-09 and till date, State/UT-wise;and

(b) the steps taken by the Government to reduce the transmission and distribution losses in the country?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER (SHRI BHARATSINH SOLANKI)

(a): T&D losses as measure of grid losses were replaced with AT&C losses for better clarity and to capture commercial losses also, which are a significant component of losses in utilities. States/ UT wise Aggregate Technical & Commercial (AT&C) losses for the year 2007-08 as contained in the 6th `Report on Performance of State Power Utilities `published by Power Finance Corporation are given at Annex.

(b): The Government of India has accorded sanction to implement Restructured APDRP for XI Plan as a Central Sector Scheme on 31.07.2008. The focus of the programme is on actual, demonstrable performance in terms of loss reduction. Projects under the scheme to be taken up in two parts. Part-A is the projects for establishment of baseline data and IT applications for energy accounting/ auditing & IT based consumer service centres and Part-B is regular distribution strengthening projects. The objective of the scheme is to reduce the AT&C losses to 15% in the project areas at the end of the scheme. The Utilities are also to achieve the following target of AT&C loss reduction at utility level:

Utilities having AT&C loss above 30%: Reduction by 3% per year

Utilities having AT&C loss below 30%: Reduction by 1.5% per year

Under Part-A of R-APDRP, so far 1283 projects at the cost of Rs.4730.38 Crore have been approved for 22 States (Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Assam, Kerala, Tripura, Jammu & Kashmir).