## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:30 ANSWERED ON:01.03.2005 NORTH BENGAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD Barman Shri Hiten;Baxla Shri Joachim;Bose Shri Subrata

## Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that the North Bengal Development Board constituted by West Bengal Government under the chairmanship of the Chief Minister, for development of six most backward districts of North Bengal;
- (b) if so, the details in this regard;
- (c) whether the Union Government has allocated any special package for the six districts of North Bengal; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

## **Answer**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI MANIKRAO HODLYA GAVIT)

- (a) & (b): Yes, Sir. The Government of West Bengal constituted a Board named Uttarbanga Unnayan Parishad (North Bengal Development Board/Council) in May 2000 to tackle backwardness and for comprehensive and integrated development of the six districts of North Bengal, viz. Malda, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur and Coochbehar. The Chief Minister is the Chairman of the Parishad, one Minister elected from North Bengal is its Vice-Chairman and all MPs, MLAs, Sabhadhipathis, District Magistrates of these districts are members of the Parishad. The function of this Parishad is to formulate and implement schemes for development of the areas of these districts through Local Self Government institutions, other Government Authorities and Non Government Organisations located in North Bengal. The parishad also monitors planning as well as implementation of the Schemes.
- (c) & (d): The Union Government has allocated Rs. 5 Crore during 2003-04 and Rs. 10 Crore during 2004-05 as one-time Additional Central Assistance to the Uttarbanga Unnayan Parishad under the Special Area Programmes. Under the Rashtriya Sam Yojana, Rs. 15 crores per district per annum has been sanctioned to the three districts of North Bengal viz. Jalpaiguri, Uttar Dinajpur and Dakshin Dinajpur, which have been included in the Backward District Initiative Component of the Rashtriya Sam Yojana.