## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA URBAN DEVELOPMENT** LOK SABHA

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1137** ANSWERED ON:07.12.2004 FACILITIES IN CITIES FALLING UNDER NCR Hasan Chaudhary Munawwar

## Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) the city-wise details of the main facilities the Government is going to provide in cities falling under NCR; and

(b) the time by which these facilities are likely to be made available in these cities?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT(SHRI GHULAM NABI AZAD)

(a)&(b): The facilities in the cities falling under the National Capital Region are provided by the respective State Governments and their implementing agencies. The National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB), is a planning body under the Central Govt. The Regional Plan-2001 identified following 6 Delhi Metropolitan Area (DMA) towns and 11 Regional Centres for development on priority basis:-

DMA TOWNS

- 1. Ghaziabad (including Loni)
- 2. Gurgaon
- 3. NOIDA
- 4. Faridabad
- 5. Bahadurgarh
- 6. Kondli

REGIONAL CENTRES

- 1. Rohtak
- Panipat
  Palwal
- 4. Rewari
- Dharuhera
  Meerut
- 7. Hapur
- Bullandshahr
  Khurja
- 10. Alwar
- 11. Bhiwadi

The Regional Plan envisages giving impetus to these centres through provisions to infrastructure and services so that they not only dissuade the potential out-migrating population but also attract and absorb the Delhi bound migrants in the NCR area.

The NCR Planning Board also facilitates development of infrastructure in the National Capital Region through financial assistance in the form of loan for selected projects of the State Govts. and their implementing agencies.