GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CIVIL AVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3156 ANSWERED ON:20.03.2008 EXEMPTION FROM FRISKING AT AIRPORTS Patel Shri Kishanbhai Vestabhai

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has exempted the Chiefs of Armed Forces of the country from security checks during their air travel by civil aircraft;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the criteria fixed for extending such exemption; and

(d) the category of officials/persons exempted from security checks/frisking while travelling by air in the country?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION(SHRI PRAFUL PATEL)

(a)&(b): Yes Sir.The chiefs of staff holding the rank of full General or equivalent have been exempted from pre-embarkation security checks.

(c): Ministry of Civil Aviation normaly gives exemption from the pre-embarkation security checks in consultation with or after receiving inputs from Ministry of Home Affairs(MHA), B.

(d): The list of VVIPs/VIPs exempt from pre-embarkation security check is annexed.

- 1. President,
- 2. Vice President,
- 3. Prime Minister,
- 4. Governors of States,
- 5. Former Presidents,
- 6. Former Vice-President,
- 7 Chief Justice of India,
- 8. Speaker of Lok Sabha,
- 9. Union Ministers of Cabinet rank,
- 10. Chief Ministers of States,
- 11. Deputy Chief Ministers of States,
- 12. Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission,
- 13. Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha,
- 14. Holders of Bharat Ratna Decoration,
- 15. Ambassadors of foreign countries, Charge D` Affairs and High Commissioners and their spouses.
- 16. Judges of Supreme Court,
- 17. Chief Election Commissioner,

- 18. Comptroller & Auditor General of India,
- 19. Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha,
- 20. Minister of State of the Union Council of Ministers,
- 21. Attorney General of India,
- 22. Cabinet Secretary,
- 23. Lt. Governors of Union Territories,
- 24. Chiefs of staffs holding the rank of full General or equivalent rank,
- 25. Chief Justices of the High Courts,
- 26. Chief Ministers of Union Territories,
- 27. Deputy Chief Ministers of Union Territories,
- 28. Visiting Foreign dignitaries of the above status,
- 29. H.H. the Dalai Lama,
- 30. Shri Robert Vadra, while travelling with SPG Protectees.