# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1391 ANSWERED ON:10.03.2008 DRY LAND AREA Nayak Shri Ananta

#### Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the total area of dry land in the country, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Government has launched any scheme for the development of agriculture in such areas;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, particularly in Orissa;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to diversify the cropping pattern in such areas;and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

### **Answer**

#### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI KANTI LAL BHURIA)

(a): Out of 328.7 million hectare of geographical area of India, 142 million hectares is net cultivated area. Of this, about 57 million hectare (40%) is irrigated and the remaining 85 million ha (60%) is rainfed. A statement showing state wise geographical area, net sown area, net irrigated area and rainfed area is given at Annexure – I.

(b)to(e): The Government has recently created a National Rainfed Area Authority (NRAA) for sustained and holistic development of rainfed areas. The Authority is an expert body to provide the much needed knowledge inputs regarding systematic upgradation and management of country's dryland and rainfed agriculture. NRAA has a two tier structure. The first tier is the Governing Board to provide necessary leadership and appropriate coordination in implementation of programmes. The Governing Board is chaired by the Union Agriculture Minister and co-chaired by the Union Rural Development Minister. The Union Ministers of Water Resources and Environment & Forests, Member (Agriculture) Planning Commission, Secretaries of Ministries / Department of Agriculture & Cooperation, Rural Development, Water Resources, Environment & Forests, Panchyati Raj, Chairman of NABARD, One Farmer's representative / organisation and the Chief Execeutive Officer (CEO) of NRAA are the other members. The second tier is the Executive Committee which is headed by CEO, NRAA. Five eminent full time Experts in the field of water mangement, agriculture /horticulture, animal husmandry & fisheries, forestry and watershed development, one representative each from Ministries of Rural Development, Agriculture, Environment & Forests, Panchayati Raj and Water Resources, Advisor (Agriculture) Planning Commission, Director of Central Arid Zone Research Institute (CAZRI, Jodhpur), Director of Central Reseach Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad are other members of the Executive Committee.

Apart from NRAA, the Government is also implementing various programs/schemes for development of agriculture in the rainfed areas. The names of the major schemes are :

- (i) Watershed Programmes
- # National Watershed Development Project for Rainfed Areas (NWDPRA)
- # Soil Conservation for Enhancing Productivity of Degraded Lands in the Catchments of River Valley Project and Flood Prone River (RVP & FPR)
- # Watershed Development Projects in Shifting Cultivation Areas (WDPSCA)
- # Drought Prone Area Programme (DPAP)
- # Integrated Wasteland Development Programme (IWDP)
- # Desert Development Programme (DDP)
- (ii) National Food Security Mission (NFSM)
- (iii) Rastriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY)
- (iv) Mini Mission II of Technology Mission on Cotton (TMC)

(v) Mini Mission II of Jute Technology Mission (JTM)

## (vi) National Horticulture Mission (NHM)

In the State of Orissa from the above programmes, NWDPRA, RVP & FPR, DPAP, WDP, NFSM, RKVY, TMC, JTM and NHM are being implemented. All these programmes are aimed at increasing the agriculture productivity, increasing the cropping intensity and diversification of cropping system to provide better economic returns to the farmers.