## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TRIBAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2110
ANSWERED ON:30.11.2007
SCHEME FOR "EXCHANGE OF VISITS OF TRIBALS"
Nayak Shri Ananta; Patel Shri Kishanbhai Vestabhai

### Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has launched a new Central Scheme namely Exchange of visits by Tribals;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether any visit has been organized under the scheme; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State-wise?

# **Answer**

#### MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI P.R.KYNDIAH)

- (a): The Ministry has not launched any new Central Scheme namely Exchange of visits by tribals. However, the Ministry has been implementing a Central Sector Scheme of Exchange of visits by Tribal" since 2001-02.
- (b): The scheme aims at organizing exposure visits of tribal delegates to enable them to get a wider perspective of culture; traditions and economic development/practices of other States/UTs. The States Governments are encouraged to organize such visits for duration of 10 days excluding journey time, comprising a group of 10 tribals in a manner that include a minimum of 3 women and minimum of 3 elected members of the local body or Panchayats.
- (c & d): The details of the visits under the scheme from 2001 onwards are given in Annexure I.

#### Annexure-I

The Details of States/ UTs Participated in the Visits under the Scheme "Exchange of Visits By Tribals" from 2001-02 onwards.

States/UTs

2001-2002

- 1. Gujarat
- 2. Karnataka
- 3. Mizoram
- 4. Tripura

2002-2003

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Gujarat
- 3. Kerala
- 4. Manipur
- 5. Meghalaya
- 6. Rajasthan
- 7 Tripura

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Assam
- 3. Gujarat
- 4. Himachal Pradesh
- 5. Madhya Pradesh
- 6. Mizoram
- 7 A&N Islands
- 8. D&N Haveli

## 2004-2005

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- Chhattisgarh
   Gujarat
- 4. Kerala
- 5. Madhya Pradesh
- 6. Meghalaya
- 7 Mizoram
- 8. Orissa
- 9. Rajasthan
- 10. Sikkim 11. Tripura

## 2005-2006

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Arunachal Pradesh
- 3. Assam
- 4. Chhattisgarh
- 5. Gujarat
- 6. Orissa 7 Jharkhand
- 8. Karnataka
- 9. Kerala 10. Madhya Pradesh
- 11. Maharashtra 12. Rajasthan 13. Tripura