## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PLANNING LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:41 ANSWERED ON:07.07.2004 BACKWARD DISTRICTS Nishad Shri Mahendra Prasad

## Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether 100 districts have been selected all over the country as the most backward districts;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, state-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has been conducting any survey for selecting more districts falling under this category; and
- (d) if so, the time by which districts so identified are likely to be benefitted?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING (SHRI M.V. RAJASEKHARAN)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (d) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 41 REGARDING BACKWARD DISTRICTS BY SHRI MAHENDRA PRASAD NISHAD DUE FOR ANSWER ON 7.7.2004

- (a): One hundred backward districts have been identified for coverage under the Backward Districts Initiative component of the Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana. In addition, 32 districts affected by Left Wing Extremism are also covered under this programme.
- (b): State-wise details of districts covered under the programme are in Table-I.
- (c): No, Sir. There is no proposal to conduct a survey for selecting additional districts under the programme.
- (d): Does not arise.

Table-I referred to in Statement in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 41 regarding backward districts by Shri Mahendra Prasad Nishad due for answer on 7.7.2004

Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana : Backward Districts Initiative

List of Districts

- S. No. Name of the State Name of the District
- 1. Andhra Pradesh 1.Adilabad
  - 2.Warangal
  - 3.Chittor
  - 4.Mahbubnagar
  - 5. Vizianagaram
- 2. Chhatisgarh 1. Bastar
  - 2. Dantewada
  - 3. Kankar
  - 4. Bilaspur
- 3. Gujarat 1.Dangs

- 2.Dohad 3.Panchmahals 4. Haryana 1.Sirsa
- 5. Jharkhand 1.Lohardagga
  - 2.Gumla
  - 3.Simdega
  - 4.Saraikela
  - 5.Singhbhum West
  - 6.Goddha
- 6. Karnataka 1.Gulbarga
  - 2.Bidar
  - 3.Chitradurga
  - 4.Davangere

Table-I referred to in Statement in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 41 regarding backward districts by Shri Mahendra Prasad Nishad due for answer on 7.7.2004

Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana : Backward Districts Initiative List of Districts

- 7.Kerala 1. Palakkad
  - 2. Wynad
- 8.Madhya Pradesh 1. Mandla
  - 2. Barwani
  - 3. West Nimar
  - 4. Seoni
  - 5. Shahdol
  - 6. Umaria
  - 7. Balaghat

  - 8. Satna 9. Siddhi
- 9.Maharashtra 1. Gadchiroli
  - 2. Bhandara
  - 3. Gondia
  - 4. Chandrapur
  - 5. Hingoli
  - 6. Nanded
  - 7. Dhule
  - 8. Nandurbar
  - 9. Ahmednagar
- 10.Punjab 1. Hoshiarpur
- 11.Rajasthan 1. Banswara
  - Dungarpur
     Jhalawar
- 12. Tamil Nadu 1. Tiruvannamalai
  - 2. Dindigul
  - 3. Cuddalore
  - 4. Naggapattinam
  - 5. Sivgangai

Table-I referred to in Statement in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 41 regarding backward districts by Shri Mahendra Prasad Nishad due for answer on 7.7.2004

Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana: Backward Districts Initiative

List of Districts

- 13.Uttar Pradesh 1. Sonbhadra
  - 2. Raebareli
  - 3. Unnao
  - 4. Sitapur
  - 5. Hardoi
  - 6. Banda
  - 7. Chitrakoot
  - 8. Fatehpur
  - 9.Barabanki
  - 10. Mirzapur
  - 11. Gorakhpur
  - 12. Kushinagar
  - 13. Lalitpur

  - 14. Jaunpur
  - 15. Hamirpur
  - 16. Jalaun
  - 17. Mahoba
  - 18. Kaushambi
  - 19. Azamgarh
  - 20. Pratapgarh
- 14.West Bengal 1. Purulia
  - 2. 24 South Parganas
  - 3. Jalpaiguri
  - 4. Midnapur West
  - 5. South Dinajpur
  - 6. Bankura
  - 7. North Dinajpur
  - 8. Birbhum
- 15.Assam 1. Kokrajhar
  - 2. North Lakhimpur
  - 3. Karbi Anglong
  - 4. Dhemaji
  - 5. North Cachar Hills

Table-I referred to in Statement in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 41 regarding backward districts by Shri Mahendra Prasad Nishad due for answer on 7.7.2004

Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana : Backward Districts Initiative List of Districts

16.Arunachal Pradesh 1. Upper Subansiri

- 17. Himachal Pradesh 1. Chamba
  - 2. Sirmaur

```
18.Jammu & Kashmir 1. Doda
2. Kupwara
3. Poonch

19.Manipur 1. Tamenlong

20.Meghalaya 1. West Garo Hills

21.Mizoram 1. Lawngtlai

22.Nagaland 1. Mon

23.Sikkim Sikkim

24.Tripura 1. Dhalai

25.Uttaranchal 1. Champavat
2. Tehri Garhwal
3. Chamoli
```

Table-I referred to in Statement in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 41 regarding backward districts by Shri Mahendra Prasad Nishad due for answer on 77.2004

Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana: Backward Districts Initiative - List of 32 Extremist Affected Districts

State Districts

- 1. Andhra Pradesh 1. Karimnagar
  - 2.Khammam
  - 3.Medak
  - 4. Nalgonda
  - 5.Nizamabad
- 2.Bihar 1.Aurangabad
  - 2.Gaya
  - 3.Jehanabad
  - 4.Rohtas
  - 5.Nalanda
  - 6. Patna
  - 7.Bhojpur
  - 8. Kaimur
- 3. Jharkhand 1. Hazaribagh
  - 2.Palamu
  - 3.Chatra
  - 4.Garhwa
  - 5.Ranchi
  - 6.Latehar
  - 7.Giridih
  - 8. Koderma

- 9.Bokaro 10.Dhanbad
- 4.Madhya Pradesh 1.Dindori
- 5.Chhatisgarh 1.Kawardha 2.Rajnandgaon 3.Sarguja

  - 4.Jashpur
- 6.Orissa 1.Ganjam 2.Gajapati 3. Mayurbhanj
- 7.Uttar Pradesh 1.Chandauli