GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RURAL DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2722 ANSWERED ON:31.08.2007 NATIONAL RURAL EMPLOYMENT GUARANTEE SCHEME Gehlot Shri Thaawar Chand;Saradgi Shri lqbal Ahmed

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has received proposals for extension of National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme(NREGS) in more districts;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether proposals for release of second installment under NREGS has been received by the Government;

(d) if so, the details thereof; and

(e) the action taken by the Government thereon?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRIMATI SURYAKANTA PATIL)

(a)&(b) Yes,Sir. A State-wise statement containing names of districts for which proposals have been received for inclusion under NREGA after 2nd phase of its implementation is at Annexure-I.

(c) to (e) NREGA is demand based and not allocation based. Funds are released to the districts on receipt of a proposal along with utilisation certificates showing at least 60% utilisation of funds released earlier along with other documents. State-wise funds released during the year 2007-08, so far, are given in Annexure-II.

Annexure -I

Annexure-I to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2722 due for reply on 31.08.2007

LIST OF DISTRICTS FOR WHICH REQUEST HAVE BEEN RECEIVED FOR INCLUSION AFTER 2nd PHASE OF IMPLEMENTATION OF NREGA

S.No. States Districts

1 Andhra Pradesh Visakhap attnam 2 Arunachal Pradesh Kurung Kumey and East Kameng 3 Chattisgarh Mengeli, Pabhria and Lormi Blocks of Bilaspur district, Raipur, Durg and Jangee-Champa 4 Gujarat Kutch, Saurashtra, Vadodara and Surat 5 Himachal Pradesh Remaining distrcts of H.P. 6 Jammu & Kashmir Udhampur 7 Kerala Allepev 8 Karnataka Koppal, Bijapur, Gadag, Haveri, Tumkur, Kolar and Chamarajnagar 9 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur, Narsinghpur and Indore 10 Manipur All five hill districts 11 Mizoram Remaining 4 districts 12 Nagaland Peren, Longlong and Kiphare 13 Punjab Tara Taran, Muktsar, Faridkot, Ferozepur, Sangrur, Mansa, Fatehgarh Sahib 14 Rajasthan All the districts of Rajasthan 15 Tamilnadu Ramanathapuram, Perambalur, Dharmapuri, Pudukottai

16 Tripura remaining three districts

17 Uttaranchal Remaining 8 districts

Annexure - II

Annexure II referred to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2722 due for reply on 31.08.2007

S.No. States Amount (Rs. In lakh)

1 Andhra Pradesh 62808.10 2 Arunachal Pradesh 105.38 3 Assam 36091.87 4 Bihar 29319.08 5 Chhattisgarh 52486.45 6 Gujarat 2883.78 7 Haryana 2751.97 8 Himachal Pradesh 5470.63 9 Jammu & Kashmir 4176.29 10 Jharkhand 28423.99 11 Karnataka 14772.67 12 Kerala 2784.05 13 Madhya Pradesh 147060.79 14 Maharashtra 1008.75 14 Manarashtra 1008. 15 Manipur 1088.13 16 Meghalaya 3669.15 17 Mizoram 865.25 18 Nagaland 2166.59 19 Orissa 32567.08 20 Punjab 1650.17 21 Punjab 1650.17 21 Rajasthan 62030.51 22 Sikkim 364.75 23 Tamilnadu 33376.93 24 Tripura 12451.45 25 Uttaranchal 6456.90 26 Uttar Pradesh 33775.72 27 West Bengal 72635.88

Total 653242.31