## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2711 ANSWERED ON:16.12.2004 CREATION OF RAILWAY ZONES Angadi Shri Suresh Chanabasappa

## Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the present locations of the newly Created Railway Zones in the country;

(b) whether the new Railway Zones have been provided with adequate staff;

(c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;

(d) whether the Government propose to set up more Railway Recruitment Boards for these new zones;

(e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;

(f) whether there is a resentment in some States where the HQs of these Zones are situated regarding recruitment of outsiders; and

(g) if so, the action taken by the Government in this regard?

## Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI R. VELU)

(a) to (g): A statement is attached.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (g) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2711 BY SHRI SURESH ANGADI TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 16.12.2004 REGARDING CREATION OF NEW ZONES.

(a) The Government has created seven new Railway Zones, which are located as under:

Sl.No. Name of the Zone Headquarters

1. East Central Railway Hajipur

2. East Coast Railway Bhubaneswar

3. North Central Railway Allahabad

4. North Western Railway Jaipur

5. South East Central Railway Bilaspur

6. South Western Railway Hubli

7 West Central Railway Jabalpur

(b) & (c): The new zonal Railways fixed their requirement of staff for headquarter offices as 9138. Based on the options exercised by staff, 6011 have joined the headquarter offices of new zones. Considering the level of activities, the staff strength is considered adequate for the present.

(e) Existing Railway Recruitment Boards are adequately catering to the recruitment requirements of Indian Railways including the new Zones.

(f) & (g): Notwithstanding the demands for recruitment on regional basis, selections are conducted on all India basis in accordance with the Government's orders and ruling given by the Supreme Court of India.