GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:238 ANSWERED ON:02.12.2004 RAILWAY ZONES UNDER RAILWAY BOARD Nair Shri P.K. Vasudevan;Surendran Shri Chengara

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of Railways Zones now operating under the Railway Board;
- (b) the details of norms for formation of Railway Zones;
- (c) whether regional imbalance in Railway development and the rectification of the same is a consideration in this respect; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI R. VELU)

- (a) The following 16 Railway Zones are operational at present:-
- 1. Central Railway, Mumbai
- 2. Eastern Railway, Kolkata
- 3. East Central Railway, Hajipur
- 4. East Coast Railway, Bhubaneswar
- Northern Railway, New Delhi
 North Central Railway, Allahabad
- 7 North Eastern Railway, Gorakhpur
- 8. Northeast Frontier Railway, Guwahati
- 9. North Western Railway, Jaipur
- 10. Southern Railway, Chennai
- 11. South Central Railway, Secunderabad
- 12. South Eastern Railway, Kolkata
- 13. South East Central Railway, Bilaspur
- 14. South Western Railway, Hubli
- 15. Western Railway, Mumbai
- 16. West Central Railway, Jabalpur

(b) Railway Zones are set up keeping in view the factors like size, workload, accessibility, traffic patterns and other operating/administrative requirements etc. consistent with the needs of economy and efficiency.

(c) No, Sir.

(d) Does not arise.