GOVERNMENT OF INDIA EXTERNAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:37
ANSWERED ON:01.12.2004
STREAMLINING PASSPORT ISSUANCE PROCEDURE
Athawale Shri Ramdas;Chakraborty Shri Ajay;Mahato Shri Bir Sing;Mahato Shri Sunil Kumar

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) The number of Passport offices in the country at present, state-wise;
- (b) The average number of applications scrutinized in these offices per month;
- (c) whether there is any delay in the issuing of passports;
- (d) if so, steps proposed to ease the passport issuance procedure;
- (e) whether there is a constant increase in the cost of passport; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof and the steps proposed to be taken to check the increase in cost?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI E. AHAMED)

- (a) There are 30 passport offices in the country. A list showing their state-wise location is at Annexure `A`.
- (b) These passport offices scrutinize an average of approximately 2,86,000 applications per month.
- (c) It has always been the endeavour of government to render efficient and timely service to the passport seeking public. However, delays take place in issuance of passports, largely due to an increase in demand for passports, delays in receipt of police verification reports and submission of incomplete information and documentation by the applicants.
- (d) Several steps have been taken by government to streamline the passport issuance procedure. These include deploying additional staff from other passport offices, computerisation, decentralisation of submission of passport applications to district level, machine writing of passports and expediting police verification.
- (e & f) The passport fee was last revised in April 2002. There is no proposal at present for increasing the passport fee.

ANNEXURE'A'

STATEMENT OF STATE-WISE PASSPORT OFFICES IN INDIA

S.NO. STATE PASSPORT OFFICE

- 1. GUJARAT AHMEDABAD SURAT
- 2. KARNATAKA BANGALORE
- 3. UTTAR PRADESH BAREILLY LUCKNOW GHAZIABAD
- 4. MADHYA PRADESH BHOPAL
- 5. ORISSA BHUBANESHWAR
- 6. WEST BENGAL KOLKATA

8. TAMIL NADU CHENNAI TIRUCHIRAPPALLI

- 9. KERALA COCHIN KOZHIKODE
 - TRIVANDRUM

- 10. DELHI DELHI
 11. ASSAM GUWAHATI
 12. ANDHRA PRADESH HYDERABAD VISAKHAPATNAM
- 13. RAJASTHAN JAIPUR 14. PUNJAB JALANDHAR
- 15. JAMMU & KASHMIR JAMMU SRINAGAR
- 16. MAHARASHTRA MUMBAI NAGPUR PUNE
- THANE
 17. GOA PANAJI
 18. BIHAR PATNA
- 19. JHARKHAND RANCHI