GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1782 ANSWERED ON:04.12.2006 NEW WAGES FOR AGRICULTURAL LABOURERS Shiwankar Shri Maha Deo Rao;Yadav Shri Kailash Nath Singh

Will the Minister of LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has contemplated/sanctioned an increase in the wages of the agricultural labourers as reported in `Rashtriya Sahara`, November 23, 2006;

(b) if so, whether this increase has been sanctioned for certain States only;

(c) if so, the reasons therefor;

(d) whether the rates of wages announced in recent years by the Government are being adopted in all the States; and

(e) if not, the reasons therefor?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT (SHRI OSCAR FERNANDES)

(a): The Chief Labour Commissioner (Central) has revised Variable Dearness Allowance (VDA) for different category of workers employed in agriculture with effect from 1st October, 2006 on the basis of rise in prices as measured in terms of All India Consumer Price Index Number for Industrial Workers. The basic rates and VDA fixed for agriculture as applicable to different areas in the Central Sphere are as under:-

Area Wise Basic + V.D.A Rates (in Rs.)

```
Category Area `A` Area `B` Area `C`
```

Unskilled 114.00+6.37 104.00+5.79 102.00+5.78

120.37 109.79 107.78

Semi-Skilled 125.00+6.95 116.00+6.38 107.00+5.81

131.95 122.38 112.81

Skilled 137.00+7.54 125.00+6.95 115.00+6.37

144.54 131.95 121.37

Highly Skilled 153.00+8.41 141.00+7.82 125.00+6.78 ---161.41 148.82 131.78

Area `A`, `B` and `C` are defined as per Annexure.

(b) to (e): These rates are not applicable for scheduled employment relating to agriculture in the States sphere as under the provisions of Minimum Wages Act, 1948, the Central and State Governments/Union Territories are the appropriate Governments to fix and revise the rates for minimum wages in the scheduled employments under their respective jurisdictions.

ANNEXURE

Annexure referred to in part (a) in reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1782 to be answered on 04.12.2006.

AREA `A`

```
Ahmedabad (U.A.) Greater Bombay (U.A) Chennai (U.A.)
Bangalore (U.A.) Hyderabad (U.A) Nagpur (U.A.)
Kolkata (U.A.) Kanpur (U.A) Delhi (U.A.)
Lucknow (U.A)
AREA `B`
Agra (U.A.) Ghaziabad (U.A.) Meerut (U.A.)
Ajmer (U.A.) Gorakhpur (U.A.) Moradabad (U.A.)
Aligarh (U.A.) Guwahati Mysore (U.A.)
Allahabad (U.A.) Guntur Nasik (U.A.)
Amaravati (U.A.) Gwalior (U.A.) Pune (U.A.)
Aurangabad (U.A.) Indore (U.A.) Patna (U.A.)
Bareilly (U.A.) Hubli-Dharwad Raipur
Bhavnagar/Bhopal Jabalpur (U.A.)
                                         Rajkot
Bikaner Jaipur (U.A.) Ranchi (U.A.)
Bhubaneshwar Jalandhar Sholapur (U.A.)
Amritsar Jamshedpur (U.A.) Sri
Calicut (U.A.) Jodhpur Surat (U.A.)
                                        Srinagar (U.A.)
Chandigarh (U.A.) Kolhapur (U.A.) Thiruvananthapuram (U.A.)
Cochin (U.A.) Kalyan Ulhasnagar
Coimbatore (U.A.) Kota Vadodara (U.A.)
Cuttack (U.A.) Ludhiana Varanasi (U.A.)
Durgapur Madurai (U.A.) Vijayawada (U.A.)
       Vishakhapatnam (U.A.)
       Warangal
```

Faridabad Complex

Area `C` will comprise all areas not mentioned in this list.

NB: U.A. stands for Urban Area.