82

THE MINISTER OF LABOUR (SHRI M. ARUNACHALAM): (a) During the Ninth Five Year Plan, in addition to continuance of a variety of existing rural development and poverty alleviation programmes like Integrated Rural Development Programme (IRDP), Jawahar Rozgar Yojana (JRY), Development of Women & Children inRural Areas (DWCRA), Employment Assurance Scheme (EAS) and National Social Assistance Scheme (NSAS) which inter-alia benefit agricultural labourers, the Govt. are considering enactment of a comprehensive legislation to regulate employment, conditions of service and to provide certain welfare measures to the agricultural workers.

- (b) Since the legislation is proposed to be implemented through the existing machinery and the welfare measures are proposed to be financed mainly by employers' contributions, no funds have been allocated for the purpose.
- (c) and (d) The Government have been conducting Agricultural Labour Enquiries since 1950-1951 to collect data on wages and earnings, employment and unemployment, income, indebtedness etc. of the rural labour households. These have since been integrated with quinquennial surveys of NSSc on general employment and unemployment. Agricultural workers are also enumerated alongwith general population in the decinnial census. In Addition National Commission on Rural Labour (1987-91) also made an in-depth study into the socio-economic conditions of agricultural workers alongwith other rural workers.

IDSMT Scheme in Bihar

4992.SHRI RAMASHRAYA PRASAD SINGH : Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state :

- (a) whether the Integrated Development of small and Medium Towns Scheme (IDSMT) is being implemented in Bihar:
- (b) if so, the district- wise towns brought under this scheme, till date;
- (c) whether Nalanda and Darbhanga have also been included under this scheme; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor and the details of the proposal, if any, regarding such inclusion?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN AFFAIRS AND EMPLOYMENT AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (DR.U. VENKATESWARLU): (a) Yes Sir.

- (b) The list of 40 towns in Bihar, district-wise, which have been covered under IDSMT—till date, is annexed as Statement.
- (c) Nalanda has not been included under IDSMT so far. Darbhanga had been included during VII Plan period
- (d) Identification and selection of priority towns for inclusion under IDSMT Scheme vests with the State Governments. Government of Bihar have not included Nalanda in the list of priority towns identified.

Statement

Name of towns covered under IDSMT Scheme from 1979-80 to March 31, 1997

| SI.No. | State/Town | District |
|------------|--------------|---------------------|
| Bihar | | |
| 1. | Arrah | Bhojpur |
| 2. | Begusarai | Begusarai |
| 3. | Bettiah | Pashchim Champaran |
| 4. | Chaibasa | Pashchimi Singhbhum |
| 5 . | Chapra | Saran |
| 6. | Daltonganj | Paiamu |
| 7 . | Deoghar | Deoghar |
| 8. | Dhanbad | Dhanbad |
| 9. | Dumak | Dumka |
| 10. | Giridih | Giridih |
| 11. | Gopalganj | Gopalganj |
| 12. | Hajipur | Vaishaii |
| 13. | Hazaribag | Hazaribagh |
| 14. | Katihar | Katihar |
| 15. | Saharsa | Saharsa |
| 16. | Bihar Sharif | Nalanda |
| 17. | Bodh Gaya | Gaya |
| 18. | Buxar | Bhojpur |
| 19. | Darbhanga | Darbhanga |
| 20. | Kishanganj | Kishanganj |
| 21. | Madhubani | Madhubani |
| 22. | Nawada | Nawada |
| 23. | Purnia | Purni a |
| 24. | Sitamarhi | Sitamarhi |
| 25. | Siwan | Siwan |
| 26 | Jehenabad | Jehenabad |
| 27 | Sahibganj | Sahibganj |
| 28. | Banka | Bhag i pur |
| 29. | Garhwa | Palamu |
| 30. | Munger | Munger |
| 31. | Bhagalpur | Bhagaipur |
| 32. | Chatra | Hazaribagh |
| 33. | Godda | Godda |
| 34. | Muzaffarpur | Muzaffarpur |
| 35. | Rajgir | Nalanda |
| 36. | Rorbesganj | Araria |
| 37. | Gaya | Gaya |
| 38. | Lohardaga | Lohardaga |
| 39. | Sheohar | Sitamarhi |
| | Supaul | Saharsa |
| 39. 40. | | <u> </u> |