GOVERNMENT OF INDIA URBAN DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2577 ANSWERED ON:08.12.2006 FACILITIES IN NCR Khaire Shri Chandrakant Bhaurao

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

:

- (a) The areas in the States adjoining Delhi falling under the National Capital Region (NCR); and
- (b) The efforts made by the Union Government to provide facilities at par with Delhi in these areas?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRI AJAY MAKEN)

(a): The National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) has informed that the National Capital Region comprises the following:-

National Capital Territory of Delhi (1,483 sq.kms.)

Haryana Sub-region: Eight districts namely Faridabad, Gurgaon, Rohtak, Sonepat, Rewari, Jhajjar, Mewat and Panipat (13,413 sq.kms.)

Rajasthan Sub-region: Alwar District (7,829 sq.kms.)

Uttar Pradesh Sub-region: Five districts namely Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bulandshahr and Baghpat (10,853 sq.kms.)

(b): The NCRPB prepares the Regional Plan for development of the National Capital Region. The Regional Plan-2021 was notified on 17.9.2005. The Board also provides loan assistance to the constituent States/its implementing agencies for implementation of the plans including infrastructure projects in the National Capital Region. Since 1985, the NCR Planning Board has disbursed loans amounting to Rs.2292.58 crore for 167 infrastructure projects in the region. The projects pertain to land development, water supply, power, transport, sewerage and drainage and other infrastructure development projects.