GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CIVIL AVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2026 ANSWERED ON:10.08.2006 ENHANCEMENT OF AIR CONNECTIVITY WITH SINGAPORE . Adhalrao Patil Shri Shivaji;Nayak Smt. Archana;Singh Shri Dushyant

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:

(a): whether India and Singapore have signed a new Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to enhance air connectivity;

(b): if so, the details thereof;

(c): whether both countries are unable to resolve the `fifth freedom` issue;

(d): if so, the steps taken by the Government to resolve this issue with Singapore;

(e): the benefits likely to be accrued to India by this agreement; and

(f): the names of the countries with whom India is having `fifth freedom` agreement?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION (SHRI PRAFUL PATEL)

(a): Yes, Sir.

(b): As per the MoU signed between India and Singapore during the last round of bilateral air services consultations held on 10-11 July, 2006, two sides confirmed about the coming into force of our ASEAN offer which inter-alia provide unlimited acess to 18 tourist destinations in India. Both sides also agreed for an open sky arrangement with no limitation on frequency, routing and capacity for all cargo services.

(c)&(d): Both sides agreed during the talks that the issue of the enhancement of `fifth freedom` rights will be discussed during the next round of talks between the two countries.

(e): The tourism sector will be benefited with the opening up of 18 tourist gateways in India with unlimited access to the designated airlines of both sides. Apart from it, the freighter services will get a boost as the open sky has been agreed for all cargo services.

(f): At present, India is having `fifth freedom` agreement on reciprocal basis with USA, Canada, Brazil, UK, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Hungry, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Mauritius, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Yemen, Dubai, Egypt, Bahrain, Oman, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Syria, Turkey, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, China, Fiji, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand. In the case of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan, Indian carriers have unilateral 5th freedom rights.