## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:185 ANSWERED ON:25.07.2006 OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE FOR OBC'S QUOTA

Aaron Rashid Shri J.M.;Bhadana Shri Avtar Singh;Deora Shri Milind Murli;Rawat Shri Bachi Singh;Reddy Shri K. Jayasurya Prakash;Singh Shri Prabhunath;Yerrannaidu Shri Kinjarapu

## Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has constituted the Oversight Committee under the Chairmanship of Shri Veerappa Moily to monitor the implementation of Other Backward Classes quota and financial assistance to central educational institutions;
- (b) if so, the details and composition alongwith the terms of reference of the Committee;
- (c) the time by which the said Committee is likely to submit its report; and
- (d) the funds sought by the Committee alongwith the manner in which it is proposed to be utilised?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI M.A.A. FATMI)

- (a): Yes, Sir.
- (b): The details and composition alongwith the terms of reference of the Committee is at Annexure-A.
- (c): & (d): The Committee is expected to submit its report by the 31st August, 2006.

## ANNEXURE-A

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (B) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 185 DATED 25.7.2006 ASKED B YSHRI AVTAR SINGH BHADANA, SHRI BACHI SINGH RAWAT "BACHDA", SHRI KINJARAPU YERRANNAIDU, SHRI J.M. AARON RASHID, SHRI PRABHUNATH SINGH, SHRI K. J. S.P. REDDY, SHRI MILIND DEORA.

The details and composition alongwith the terms of reference of the Committee.

- 1. Shri Veerappa Moily, Chairman, Administrative Reforms Commission Chairman
- 2. Dr. B. L. Mungekar, Member Planning Commission Member
- 3 Shri R.R.Shah, Member Secretary, Planning Commission Member Secretary.
- 4. Prof. Sukhadeo K. Thorat, Chairman, UGC Member
- 5. Dr. R. Mashelkar, Director General, CSIR Member
- 6. Dr. R.V. Vaidyanatha Ayyar, Former Secretary to Member

- 7. Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Former VC, National Law School of India, Bangalore Member
- 8. Prof. N.K. Ganguly, Director General, ICMR Member
- 9. Dr. R.A. Yadav, Vice Chairman, AICTE Member
- 10. Shri S.K.Das, IAS (Retd.), Bangalore Member
- 11.Secretary, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare Ex-Officio Member
- 12 Secretary, Department of Expenditure - do -
- 13.Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education - do -
- 14. Secretary, Department of S&HE - do -
- 2. The Committee would inter-alia, look into the following aspects:
- (i) Implementation of 27% reservation for the OBCs in institutes of higher learning; and
- (ii) Assessment of additional infrastructure and other requirements for increasing the overall availability of seats to a level so that the present level of seats available to the general category students does not decline.