# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1474 ANSWERED ON:01.12.2005 FM RADIO Kharventhan Shri Salarapatty Kuppusamy

#### Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of FM Radio channels presently broadcasted in the country, both AIR & Private, State-wise;
- (b) whether more private parties are coming forward to operate FM channels; (
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government proposed any new policy on FM Radios; and
- (e) if so, the main features of the new policy?

## **Answer**

THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI P.R. DASMUNSI)

- (a) A statement is placed at Annexure.
- (b) to (e) Yes, Sir. The Government has formulated a new policy for expansion of FM radio broadcasting through Private Agencies (Phase II). The policy, inter-alia, provides for One Time Entry Fee (OTEF) to be decided on the basis of closed tender system, annual fee @ 4% of gross revenue subject to a minimum of 10% of Reserve OTEF, foreign investment including FDI, upto 20% of the paid up equity, continued restriction on broadcast of news and current affairs and a graded penalty regime for violation of Terms and Conditions. The policy also provides for migration of Phase I operators to Phase II regime. Further details of the policy are available on Ministry's website www.mib.nic.in

Pursuant to the above policy, the Government has, on 21st September, 2005, invited pre-qualification bids from Indian companies for 338 channels in 91 cities across the country. A large number of companies have shown interest in setting up FM radio stations.

### **ANNEXURE**

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1474 FOR 01.12.2005

## STATE/UT WISE DETAILS OF EXISTING FM CHANNELS

```
Sl. No. Name of State No. of Channels
   AIR Private FM Radio Total
1 Andhra Pradesh 9 1 10
2 Assam 5 - 5
          3 - 3
3. Bihar
4. Chhattisgarh 4 - 4
5. Delhi 2 3 5 6. Goa 1 - 1
7. Gujarat 5 1 6
8. Haryana 3 - 3
9. Himachal Pradesh 5 - 5
10. Jammu & Kashmir 6 -
11. Jharkhand 5 - 5
12. Karnataka 14 1 15
13. Kerala 5 - 5
14. Madhya Pradesh 13 1 14
15. Maharashtra 16 5 21
16. Meghalaya 1 - 1
17. Mizoram 1 - 1
18. Manipur
19. Nagaland 1 - 1
20. Orissa 5 - 5
21. Punjab 3 - 3
22. Rajasthan 12 -
                       12
23. TamilNadu 8 4 12
24. Tripura 3 - 3
25. Daman & Diu 1 - 1
```

```
26 Pondicherry 1 - 1
27 Chandigarh 1 - 1
28 A& N Islands 1 - 1
29 Uttar Pradesh 8 1 9
30. Uttaranchal 1 - 1
31. West Bengal 6 4 10
```