GOVERNMENT OF INDIA WATER RESOURCES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2249
ANSWERED ON:08.08.2005
DEPLETION OF GROUND WATER
Dome Dr. Ram Chandra;Pradhan Shri Prasanta

Will the Minister of WATER RESOURCES be pleased to state:

(a) the rate of depletion of ground water due to extraction of ground water for agriculture purposes, State-wise?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF WATER RESOURCES (SHRI JAI PRAKASH NARAYAN YADAV)

The rate of depletion of ground water varies from place to place depending upon many parameters like cropping pattern, rainfall intensity, other uses etc. and therefore, it could not be assigned to a single parameter like its use for agriculture.

Long-term analysis of ground water levels by the Central Ground Water Board (CGWB), under the Ministry of Water Resources, indicated decline in ground water levels in some parts of 362 districts of 23 States/Union Territories in the country.

State-wise details thereof are given in Annexure.

ANNEXURE

S1

State/

(REFERENCE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2249 DATED 08.08.2005)

Name of Districts showing fall of water level (in parts) in last 10 years (1995-2004) during Pre-Monsoon period

Districts showing declining trends

```
Union
                                (more than 20 cm per year)
No.
      Territory
    Andhra
              Adilabad, Anantapur, Gricost, Godavari, Guntur, Hyderabad, Karimnagar, Khammam,
                     Adilabad, Anantapur, Chittoor, Cuddapah, East
 Pradesh
    Krishna, Kurnool, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda,
    Nellore, Nizamabad, Prakasam, Ranga Reddy,
    Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam,
                                            Vizianagaram,
    Warangal, West Godavari
                      Jorhat, Nagaon, Sonitpur
                    Bhagalpur, East Champaran, Munger, Muzaffarpur,
     Bihar
    Navada, Saharsa, Saran,
    Chhattisgarh
                       Bastar, Bilaspur, Dhamtari, Durg, Janjgir-champa,
    Kanker, Kawardah, Koriya, Mahasamund, Raigarh,
    Raipur, Rajnandgaon, Surguja
5
                      New Delhi, North West, South, South West,
     Delhi
     Gujarat
                      Ahmedabad, Amreli,
                                                Banashkantha,
                                                                    Bharuch,
                      Bhavnagar, Dangs, Gandhinagar, Jamnagar,
Junagarh, Kheda, Kutch, Mehsana, Panchmahal,
Rajkot, Sabarkantha, Surat, Surendranagar,
Vadodara, Valsad
     Haryana
                      Ambala, Bhiwani, Faridabad, Fatehabad, Gurgaon,
                      Hissar, Jhajjar, Jind, Kaithal, Karnal,
Kurukshetra, Mahendragarh, Panipat, Rewari,
                      Rohtak, Sirsa, Sonipat
     Himachal
                      Kangra, Kullu, Mandi, Sirmur, Solan, Una
        Pradesh
```

- 9 Jharkhand Dhanbad, Dumka, Hazaribagh, Lohardaga, Pacchim Singhbhum, Palamu, Purvi Singhbhum, Ranchi
- 10 Jammu, Kathua, Rajouri, Udhampur Kashmir
- 11 Karnataka Bagalkot, Bangalore, Belgaum, Bellary, Bidar, Bijapur, Chamrajnagar, Chikmagalur, Chitradurga, Coorg, Dakshin Kannada, Dharwad, Gadag, Gulbarga, Hassan, Haveri, Kolar, Koppal, Mandya, Mysore, Raichur, Shimoga, Tumkur, Uddupi, Uttar Kannada
- 12 Kerala Idduki, Kanoor, Kasargod, Kollam, Kottayam,
 Mallapuram, Palakkad, Thiruvananthapuram,
 Thrissur, Wayanad
- 13 Madhya Barwani, Balaghat, Betul, Bhind, Bhopal,
 Pradesh Chhatarpur, Chhindwara, Damoh, Datia, Dewas,
 Dhar, Dindhori, Guna, Gwalior, Harda,
 Hoshangabad, Indore, Jabalpur, Jhabua, Katni,
 Khandwa, Mandsaur, Morena, Mandla, Narsinghpur,
 Neemuch, Panna, Raisen, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Rewa,
 Sagar, Satna, Sehore, Seoni, Shahdol, Shajapur,
 Sheopur, Shivpuri, Sidhi, Tikamgarh, Ujjain,
 Umaria, Vidisha, West Nimar
- 14 Maharashtra Ahmadnagar, Akola, Amravati, Aurangabad, Beed,
 Bhandara, Buldana, Chandrapur, Dhule,
 Gadchiroli, Gondia, Hingoli, Jalgaon, Jalna,
 Kolhapur, Latur, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nanded,
 Nandurbar, Nashik, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Pune,
 Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sangli, Satara, Sindhudurg,
 Solapur, Thane, Wardha, Washim, Yavatmal
- 15 Orissa Angul, Baleshwar, Bargarh, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Jajpur, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Koraput, Kendujhaar, Mayurbhanj, Nawapara, Phulbani, Puri, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Sundargarh
- 16 Punjab Amritsar, Bhatinda, Faridkot, Fatehgarh Ferozepur, Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Karpurthala, Ludhiana, Mansa, Moga, Nawashahar, Patiala, Ropar, Sangrur
- 17 Rajasthan Ajmer, Alwar, Banswara, Baran, Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dausa, Dholpur, Dungarpur, Hanumangarh, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalwar, Jhunjhunu, Jodhpur, Karauli, Kota, Nagaur, Pali, Rajsamand, Sawaimadhopur, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk, Udaipur
- 18 Tamil Nadu Chennai, Coimbatore, Cuddalore, Dharmapuri,
 Dindigul, Erode, Kancheepuram, Kanyakumari,
 Karaikal, Karur, Madurai, Namakkal, Nilgiri,
 Perambalur, Ramanathapuram, Salem, Sivaganga,
 Thanjavur, Theni, Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli,
 Thiruvallur, Tiruvannamalai, Tuticorin, Vellore,
 Vellupuram, Virudhanagar
- 19 Uttar Agra, Aligarh, Allahabad, Auraiya, Azamgarh,
 Pradesh Badaun, Baghpat, Ballia, Bijnor, Chandauli,
 Chitrakoot, Deoria, Etawah, Fatehpur, Gautam
 Budh Nagar, Ghaziabad, Gonda, Hamirpur, Hathras,
 Jalaun, Jhansi, Kanpur Dehat, kanpur Nagar,
 Lakhimpur Kheri, Lalitpur, Lucknow, Mahoba,
 Mathura, Meerut, Mirzapur, Pratapgarh,
 Saharanpur, Sitapur, Sultanpur, Unnao
- 20 Uttaranchal Dehradun, Haridwar
- 21 West Bengal Bankura, Bardhaman, Birbhum, Haora, Hugli, East Medinipur, Malda, Murshidabad, Puruliya, South-24 Parganas, West Medinipur
- 22 Dadra & Nagar Dadra & Nagar Haveli Haveli
- 23 Pondicherry Pondicherry
