GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1106 ANSWERED ON:01.08.2005 TRADE UNIONS REPRESENTATION IN ILO Pradhan Shri Dharmendra

Will the Minister of LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT be pleased to state:

(a) the ranking of Trade Unions in the country as per the Labour Department's latest survey;

(b) name of Trade Union that has been selected to represent India in the International Labour Organization (ILO) for the current year; and

(c) the names of the Trade Unions that have represented India in ILO during the past ten years, year-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT(SHRI K. CHANDRASEKHAR RAO)

(a): As per the latest General Verification of Trade Union Membership (as on 31.12.1989) which was published on 26.12.1996, the ranking of the Central Trade Union Organisations are as under:

- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}
- 7 United Trade Union Congress (UTUC)
- 8. National Front of India Trade Unions (NFITU)

(b): BMS, INTUC, CITU, HMS, AITUC and UTUC(LS) were nominated to represent India in the International Labour Conference (ILC) for the current year held from 31st May to 16th June 2005.

(c): A list of central trade unions which have represented India in ILO during the past ten years is enclosed as Annexure-I.

ANNEXURE-I

COMPOSITION OF INDIA'S DELEGATION (WORKERS' GROUP) TO INTERNATIONAL LABOUR CONFERENCES OF INTERNATIONAL LABOUR ORGANISATION, GENEVA DURING LAST TEN YEARS

83rd SESSION (4-20 JUNE, 1996)

- 1. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 2. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)

85th SESSION (3-19 JUNE, 1997)

- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)

- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)

87th SESSION (1-17 JUNE, 1999)

- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}

88th SESSION (30 May -15 JUNE, 2000)

- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}

89th SESSION (5-21 JUNE, 2001)

- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)} 90th SESSION (3-20 JUNE, 2002)

1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)

- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}
- 91st SESSION (3-19 JUNE, 2003)

1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)

- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}
- 92nd SESSION (1-17 JUNE, 2004)
- 1. Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
- 2. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 3. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 4. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)
- 5. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
- 6. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}

93rd SESSION (31 MAY-16 JUNE, 2005)

- 1. Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)
- 2. Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)
- 3. Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS)

4. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)5. United Trade Union Centre (Lenin Sarani) {UTUC(LS)}