GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1558 ANSWERED ON:14.03.2005 DROUGHT AFFECTED STATES Ahir Shri Hansraj Gangaram;Ananth Kumar Shri ;Athawale Shri Ramdas;Badal Shri Sukhbir Singh;Bhagora Shri Mahavir;Bishnoi Shri Jaswant Singh;Kalmadi Shri Suresh;Meghwal Shri Kailash;Nambadan Shri Lonappan;Shivanna Shri M

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government of Maharashtra had requested for allocation of funds for relief and mitigation measures in view of persistent drought situation in several districts of Maharashtra;

(b) if so, whether other drought hit States like Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka and Punjab have also made similar demands;

(c) if so, the details of the drought hit districts in said States;

- (d) the funds and foodgrains sought by each State for the purpose;
- (e) the extent of amount released to each State till date;
- (f) whether the Union Government has prescribed any guidelines for the proper use of such assistance; and

(g) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI KANTI LAL BHURIA)

(a) to (g): State-wise details of amount approved by the High Level Committee (HLC) from National Calamity Contingency Fund (NCCF) and allocation of foodgrains from the special component of Sampooma Grameen Rozgar Yojana (SGRY) for relief employment, for drought 2004-05, are indicated in the statement at Annexure-I. State-wise details of districts declared by the respective States as drought affected this year are at Annexure-II. No request for Central assistance in the wake of drought of 2004-05 has been received from the Government of Maharashtra.

Governments of Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh and Kerala have also not submitted Memoranda of assistance for current drought. In response to their Memorandum for assistance of Rs. 4538 crores, Punjab Government have been informed that funds required by them are not covered within norms of drought relief assistance.

The schemes governing operations of Calamity Relief Fund (CRF) and National Calamity Contingency Fund (NCCF), administered by the Ministry of Home Affairs, contain detailed guidelines as to how relief funds are to be spent and their accounting procedure.

Annexure-I

State-wise Details of Assistance Provided for Drought of 2004-05

```
Amount approved by the Foodgrains allocated
S.No. State
   High Level Committee @
                    (Lakh MTs)
    (Rs. in crores)
1. Andhra Pradesh 163.60
                           2.20
2. Bihar 162. 15
                   2.00
3. Chhattisgarh 93.44
                        0.90
4. Jharkhand 139.82
                       0.67
5. Karnataka 83.67 1.14
6. Madhya Pradesh 36.30
                          1.00
```

7 Raiasthan 332.27 6.99

8. Tamil Nadu 156.84 1.50

9. Uttar Pradesh 360.94 -

@ Subject to adjustment of balances in the Calamity Relief Fund (CRF) of the respective States.

Annexure-II

DETAILS OF DISTRICTS DECLARED BY STATES AS DROUGHT AFFECTED DURING 2004-05

S.No. State Name of Districts

1. Andhra Pradesh 23 Districts

Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Nellore, Kurnool, Anathapur, Cuddapah, Chittor, Rangareddy, Nizamabad, Medak, Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Warangal, Khammam, Karimnagar, Adilabad, Hyderabad.

2. Bihar 20 Districts

Patna, Nalanda, Bhojpur, Buxer, Rohtas, Bhabhua, Gaya, Nawada, Aurangabad, Jahanabad, Arval, Vaishali, Saran, Siwan, Gopalganj, Banka, Munger, Shekhpura, Lakhisarai, Jamui.

3. Chhattisgarh 15 Districts

Koriya , Sarguja, Jashpur, Raigarh, Raipur, Janjgir, Korba, Bilaspur, Kabidham, Rajnandgaon, Durg, Dhamtari, Kanker, Bastar, Dantewada.

4. Jharkhand 22 Districts Ranchi, Lohardaga, Gumla, Shimdega, Chaibasa, West Singhbhum, Saraikela-Kharsawa, Hazaribagh, Chatra, Koderma, Giridih, Bokaro, Dhanbad, Daltonganj, Palamau, Latehar, Dumka, Jamatara, Sahebganj, Godda, Deoghar, Pakur.

5. Karnataka 21 Districts

Bangalore (Rural), Bagalkot, Belgaum, Bellary, Bidar, Bijapur, Chamarajnagara, Chikamagalur, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Dharwad, Gadag, Gulbarga, Hassan, Haveri, Kolar, Koppal, Mandya, Mysore, Raichur, Tumkur. Sheopur, Shivpuri, Gwalior, Morena, Datia, Bhind, Tikamgarh, Balaghat, Seoni, Panna, Chhatarpur, Rewa, Shahdol, Anuppur, Sidhi, Satna, Chhindwara, Harda, Hoshangabad, Betul.

7. Rajasthan 25 Districts

Ajmer, Alwar, Banswara, Baran, Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dausa, Dungarpur, Shriganganagar, Hanumangarh, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhungjhnu, Jodhpur, Karoli, Nagore, Pali, Rajsamund, Sirohi, Udaipur.

8. Uttar Pradesh 61 Districts

Agra, Mainpuri, Mathura, Aligarh, Firozabad, Etah, Hathras, Meerut, Bulandhshahr, Baghpat, Gaziabad, Gautambudh Nagar, Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Moradabad, Badaun, Lucknow, Unnao, Rae Bareilly, Hardoi, Sitapur, Ambedkar Nagar, Sultanpur, Barabanki, Gonda, Balrampur, Behraich, Shrawasti, Basti, Siddarth Nagar, Sant Kabirnagar, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia, Allahabad, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Varanasi, Jaunpur, Gazipur, Chandoli, Mirzapur, Sonbhadra, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Jhansi, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Banda, Chitrakut, Mahoba, Kanpur (Urban), Kanpur (Rural), Farukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Auraiya, Faizabad, Deoria, Maharajganj, Shahjahanpur

Government of Tamil Nadu has not so far declared drought affected areas this year.