## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PLANNING LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:555
ANSWERED ON:04.05.2005
SCHEME FOR BACKWARD AREAS.
Patel Shri Jivabhai Ambalal;Thummar Shri Virjibhai

## Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the scheme being run by the Government for development of backward areas;
- (b) the details of the backward areas developed during the last three years;
- (c) whether the said scheme of the Government has failed completely;
- (d) if so, the reaction of the Government thereto; and
- (e) the remedial steps taken by the Government in this regard?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING (SHRI M.V. RAJASEKHARAN )

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (e) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 555 REGARDING SCHEME FOR BACKWARD AREAS BY SHRI V.K. THUMMAR AND SHRI JIVABHAI AMBALAL PATEL DUE FOR ANSWER ON 04.05.2005

- (a): The Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana was launched in the Tenth Plan, for the development of backward areas, with three components, namely, (i) Special Plan for Bihar with an annual allocation of Rs. 1000 crore; (ii) Special Plan for the eight districts of the undivided Kalahandi, Bolangir, Koraput (KBK) districts of Orissa with an annual allocation of Rs. 250 crore; and (iii) Backward Districts Initiative covering 147 districts 115 backward districts and 32 extremist affected districts for which Special Central Assistance of Rs. 15 crore per annum is to be provided for three years.
- (b): List of 147 districts under the Backward Districts Initiative is enclosed as Annex I. The District Plans were approved in phases and funds started flowing from September, 2003. Bulk of the plans were approved in 2004-05.
- (c): It is too early to evaluate the success of the scheme.
- (d): Does not arise.
- (e): In view of reply to part (c) above, no remedial steps are necessary at this stage. However, from the financial year 2005-06, Backward Regions Grant Fund has been established. The Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana (RSVY), envisaged to end in 2006-07, is to be wound up with a suitable transition arrangement to protect every district now covered under RSVY.

## Annexure-I

List of districts referred to in reply to part (b) of the Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 555 regarding scheme for backward areas by Shri V.K. Thummar and Shri Jivabhai Ambalal Patel due for answer on 04.05.2005.

Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana: Backward Districts Initiative

List of Backward Districts

- 1. Andhra Pradesh 1. Adilabad 2. Warangal 3. Chittor Mahbubnagar
   Vizianagaram
- 2. Bihar 1. Vaishali
  - 2. Samastipur 3. Sheohar

  - 4. Jamui 5. Nawadah 6. Araria

  - 7. Darbhanga 8. Purnea 9. Madhubani

  - 10. Supaul
  - 11. Muzaffarpur
  - 12. Katihar
  - 13. Lakhisarai
- 3. Chhatisgarh 1. Bastar
  - 2. Dantewada
    3. Kankar
    4. Bilaspur
- 4. Gujarat 1. Dangs

  - Dohad
     Panchmahals
- 5. Haryana 1. Sirsa
- 6. Jharkhand 1. Lohardagga

  - Gumla
     Simdega
     Saraikela
  - 5. Singhbhum West 6. Goddha
- 7. Karnataka 1. Gulbarga

  - 2. Bidar 3. Chitradurga 4. Davangere
- 8. Kerala 1. Palakkad
  - 2. Wynad
- 9. Madhya Pradesh 1. Mandla

  - Barwani
     West Nimar

  - 4. Seoni
    5. Shahdol
    6. Umaria
    7. Balaghat
    8. Satna

  - 9. Siddhi
- 10. Maharashtra 1. Gadchiroli

  - Maharashtra 1.
    2. Bhandara
    3. Gondia
    4. Chandrapur
    5. Hingoli
    6. Nanded
    7. Dhule
    8. Nandurbar
    9. Ahmednagar

- 11. Orissa 1. Keonjhar
  - 2. Sundargarh
- 12. Punjab 1. Hoshiarpur
- 13. Rajasthan 1. Banswara
  - Dungarpur
     Jhalawar
- 14. Tamil Nadu 1. Tiruvannamalai

  - 2. Dindigul
    3. Cuddalore
    4. Naggapattinam
  - 5. Sivgangai
- 15. Uttar Pradesh 1. Sonbhadra
  - 2. Raebareli 3. Unnao 4. Sitapur

  - 5. Hardoi 6. Banda 7. Chitrakoot 8. Fatehpur 9. Barabanki

  - 10. Mirzapur
  - 11. Gorakhpur
  - 12. Kushinagar
  - 13. Lalitpur

  - 14. Jaunpur 15. Hamirpur
  - 16. Jalaun
  - 17. Mahoba
  - 18. Kaushambi
  - 19. Azamgarh
  - 20. Pratapgarh
- 16. West Bengal 1. Purulia
  - west Bengal 1. Purul
    2. 24 South Parganas
    3. Jalpaiguri
    4. Midnapur West
    5. South Dinajpur
    6. Bankura

  - 7. North Dinajpur 8. Birbhum
- 17. Assam 1. Kokrajhar

  - 2. North Lakhimpur
    3. Karbi Anglong
    4. Dhemaji
    5. North Cachar Hills
- 18. Arunachal Pradesh 1. Upper Subansiri
- 19. Himachal Pradesh 1. Chamba
  - 2. Sirmaur
- 20. Jammu & Kashmir 1. Doda
  - 2. Kupwara 3. Poonch
- 21. Manipur 1. Tamenlong

23. Mizoram 1. Lawngtlai 24. Nagaland 1. Mon 25. Sikkim 1. Sikkim 26. Tripura 1. Dhalai 27. Uttaranchal 1. Champavat 2. Tehri Garhwal 3. Chamoli Total 115 Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana : Backward Districts Initiative - List of 32 Extremist Affected Districts State Districts 1. Andhra Pradesh 1. Karimnagar 2. Khammam 3. Medak 4. Nalgonda 5. Nizamabad 2. Bihar 1. Aurangabad 2. Gaya 3. Jehanabad 4. Rohtas 5. Nalanda 6. Patna 7. Bhojpur 8. Kaimur 3. Jharkhand 1. Hazaribagh 2. Palamu 3. Chatra 4. Garhwa 5. Ranchi 6. Latehar 7. Giridih 8. Koderma 9. Bokaro 10.Dhanbad 4. Madhya Pradesh 1. Dindori

22. Meghalaya 1. West Garo Hills

Chhatisgarh 1. Kawardha
 Rajnandgaon
 Sarguja
 Jashpur

- 6. Orissa 1. Ganjam 2. Gajapati 3. Mayurbhanj
- 7. Uttar Pradesh 1. Chandauli

Total 32

Grand Total 147