GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COAL LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1425 ANSWERED ON:01.08.2000 COAL MINES IN M.P. VISHNU DEO SAI

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of coal mines operating in Madhra Pradesh as on 31st July, 2000, company-wise;
- (b) whether the Government propose to close down some of its coal mines;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, company-wise, alongwith the reasons therefor;
- (d) whether there is any proposal to commission new coal mines in Madhya Pradesh; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof, location-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COAL (SHRI N.T.SHANMUGAM)

(a) A total number of 128 coal mines are being operated in Madhya Pardesh by three subsidiary companies of CoalIndia Limited, namely, South Eastern Coalfields Limited (SECL), WesternCoalfields Limited (WCL) andNorthern Coalfields Limited (NCL). The break-up of the 128 coal mines is given below, company-wise:-

 SECL
 90

 WCL
 33

 NCL
 5

 Total
 128

(b) & (c): The coal companies close down mines on the grounds of exhaustion of extractable reserves, difficult geo- mining conditions, safety considerations and economic unviability as a part of their continuous mining operations. SECLand WCL propose to close down a few of their mines on the ground of exhaustion of workable reserves. The location and type of such coal mines are given below company-wise.

SECL 1. 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12	South Jhangrakhand South Jhimar Dumanhill West Chirimiri Korea Dipka Jainagar Subhash Bisrampur Nowrozabad (East) Sharada Chachai	Underground Underground Underground Underground Underground Underground Underground Underground Underground Opencast Underground Opencast Underground
WCL 1 2	Bansi Mine Chandametta Mine	Underground Underground

(d) & (e): The location and type of the new coal mines proposed to be commissioned by SECL, WCLand NCL during the next three years are given below:

```
SECL

1. Sheetal Dhara Under ground
2 Mahan Opencast
3 Chirimiri ('O'Seam) Under ground
4 Gayatri Under ground
```

5 Rani Atari Under ground 6 Bagdeva Under ground 7 Amera Opencast 8 Kanchan Opencast 9 Amadand Opencast

WCL

Neharia Under ground Chhinda Opencast

NCL

1 Block - B Opencast