GOVERNMENT OF INDIA YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:313 ANSWERED ON:14.08.2000 RASHTRIYA PUNARNIRMAN VAHINI SCHEME NIKHIL KUMAR CHOUDHARY

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is any proposal under consideration of the Government regarding implementation of 'Rashtriya Punarnirman Vahini Scheme':
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c)the details of backward districts identified for implementation of the said scheme;
- (d) the number of volunteers getting scholarship at present under the said scheme, State-wise; and
- (e) the action taken so far to implement the said scheme in the Marathwada area of Maharashtra?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS AND MINES (SHRI SUKHDEV SINGH DHINDSA)

(a), (b), (c), (d) & (e) A statement is laid on the Table of the House

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (e) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.313 F OR 14.8.2000 REGARDING RASHTRIYA PUNARNIRMAN VAHINI SCHEME ASKED BY SHRI NIKHIL KUMAR CHOUDHARY.

- (a) & (b) Yes, Sir. The National Reconstruction Corps Scheme was launched in June 1999 as a Central Sector Scheme to be implemented on a pilot basis in 80 districts of the country in the 1st year and 120 districts in the 2nd year.
- (c) A list of backward districts identified for implementation during the 1st year is at Annexure A.
- (d) & (e) Volunteers deployed under the NRC scheme willbe paid an honorarium of Rs 1000/-p.m.. Steps are being initiated to recruit volunteers under the NRC Scheme inthe selected districts of the country including the five districts identified for implementation in Maharashtra. These five districts in Maharashtra include Beed in Marathwada region of the State. Since volunteers have not yet been deployed, no honorarium has been paid so far.

ANNEXURE-A

District

State

LIST OF SELECTED DISTRICTS FOR NRC SCHEME

```
1.
Andhra Pradesh
                       Hyderabad
   2. Karim nagar
   3.
       Visakhapatnam
   4. East Godawari
Assam
                  5. Cachar (Silcher)
   6.
       Guwahati
   7. N.C. Hills
Bihar
                   8.
                        Gumla
   9.
       Dumka
   10. Hazaribagh
  11. Jahanabad
12. Nawada
   13. Nalanda
  14. Patna15. Sitamarhi
   16. Kishanganj
Gujarat 17. Ahmedabad
Haryana 18. Narnaul ( Mahendragarh )
Himachal Pradesh 19. Sirmour ( Nahan )
```

```
20. Una
Karnataka
                      21. Bidar
   22. Shimoga
23. Bijapur
Kerala
                       24. Kasargod
   25. Waynad
Madhya Pradesh
                       26. Chattarpur
   27. Tikamgarh
28. Seoni
29. Jabalpur
   30. Shahdol
31. Sarguja
   32. Jhabua
33. Gwalior
34. Bhopal
   35. Kanker
Maharashtra
                       36. Mumbai
   37. Beed
   38. Amravati
   39. Sindhudurg40. Gadhchiroli
                      41. Gurdaspur
42. Kalahandi
Punjab
Orissa
   43. Koraput
   44. Bolangir
45. Neupara
   46. Phulbani
47. Bhubneshwar
48. Mayurbhunj
Rajasthan
                       49. Bharatpur
   50. Jhalwar
51. Sikar
   52. Jaipur
Tamil Nadu
                       53. Ramananthapuram
   54. Kanyakumari
   55. Chennai
   56. Kancheepuram57. Tirichurapalli
                     58. Pilibhit
Uttar Pradesh
   59. Lucknow
    60. Meerut
   61. Mathura
62. Tehri Garhwal
   63. Lalitpur
64. Kanpur
65. Banda
Jammu & Kashmir 66. Udhampur
   67. Leh
Manipur
                      68. Bishanpur
69. Malda
West Bengal
   70. South Dinajpur (North )
   71. Bankura
   72. Calcutta
Meghalaya 73. West Goro Hills (Tura)
Nagaland 74. Kohima
Sikkim 75. Gangtok
Arunachal Pradesh 76. Lohit
Delhi
78. Mehrauli
                       77. Alipur
                       79. Lungeli
Mizoram
```

80. Dharamnagar

Tripura