# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2360 ANSWERED ON:07.08.2000 TELEPHONE EXCHANGES IN H.P MAHESHWAR SINGH

#### Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of telephone exchanges targeted to be set up in Himachal Pradesh particularly in Lahaul-Spiti, Mandi, Kinnaur, Shimla and Chamba districts during 2000-2001, location-wise;
- (b) the number of telephone exchanges set up in the State so far, district-wise;
- (c) whether due to non-availability of MCPC in the tribal areas of H.P. it is impossible to achieve the target; and
- (d) if so, the steps taken by the Government to achieve the target?

## **Answer**

### MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR)

- (a) There is a proposal to open 75 new telephone exchanges in H.P. during the year 2000- 01. Location-wise details are given in Annexure-I
- (b) Total six exchanges have been opened so far during the year as per district-wise details given in Annexure-II
- (c) Yes, Sir. The 11 exchanges can not be opened in the tribal areas without MCPCs.
- (d) 14 nos of MCPC equipment have been ordered and it is expected that the equipment would be received shortly.

#### Annexture-I

The details of the new telephone exchanges proposed to be opened during 2000-01

```
S.No District No.of Exchanges Location of exchange.
```

- 1. (1) LAHAUL SPITI 4 Kibber
- 2. Dhankar
- 3. Koksar
- 4. Thirot

(2)

- 1. MANDI 10 Chiuni
- 2. Jassal
- 3. Sainj Bagra
- 4. Sojha
- 5. Gada Gusain
- 6. Sudharni

7 Gangoti
8. Khajoor
9. Sudhar 10. Patrighat
1. (3) KINNAUR 2 Chitkul
2. Gyabung
1. (4) SHIMLA 11 Goma
2. Sainj Khud
3. Pulbahal
4. Manioti
5. Dhamwari 6. Sarpara
7 Deothi
8. Chhajpur
9. Mandhodghat 10. Giltari 11. Kiarnu
1. (5) CHAMBA 4 Harsar
2. Hatli
3. Balera
4. Hobar
6
1. BILASPUR 2 Harnora
2. Tarsu

4. Ttyora

3. Sakri

2. Nahalian

1. (7) KANGRA 17 Saleti

5. Nadholi 6. DMA-Mcleodganj
7 Kandi
8. BJN-Paprola
9. PLP-Maranda 10. Chhota Bhangal 11. Sullah 12. Dheera 13. Gharana 14. Duhak 15. Kotlu 16. Rajal 17. Lahru
1. (8) UNA 4 Gindpur Malaun
2. Handola
3. Jowar
4. UNA-Rakkar colony
1. (9) KULLU 6 Shiah
2. Chharod Nullah

3. Spangni

4. Thalti Bid

Balu Padhar
 Bandrol

2. Sundarghat

3. Barag

4. Dahan

5. Dilman 6. Timbi

2. Rampur

3. Dunnu

4. Kundlu

Beonkhari (Doli)
 Loharghat

1. (10) SIRMAUR 6 Birbikram Bag

1. (11) SOLAN 9 Sanana/ Gadyar

- 7 Chhiachhi
- 8. Bathalang
- 9. Bakhlag

Annexure-II

Details of new telephone exchanges opened so far during 2000- 2001.

S.No Distrcit No.Of Exchanges opened

- 1 Chamba 1
- 2 Lahaul Spiti 1 3 Shimla 2 4 Kullu 1 5 Mandi 1

- Total 6