GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3347 ANSWERED ON:13.03.2003 CONSTRUCTION OF NEW RAILWAY STATIONS PUSHPDAN SHAMBHUDAN GADHAVI

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the new railway stations constructed in the country during the last three years;

(b) whether there is any proposal to construct new railway stations in the country in the near future specially in Gujarat;

(c) if so, the details thereof, zone-wise; and

(d) the total amount spent on the maintenance of various stations in the country during the above period, State-wise, particularly in Saurashtra-Kutch regions of Gujarat?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI BANDARU DATTATRAYA)

(a) to (d): A statement is attached.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (50) (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3347 BY SHRI P.S. GADHAVI BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 13.03.2003 REGARDING CONSTRUCTION OF NEW RAILWAY STATIONS.

(a): The names of new Railway stations constructed on new lines, gauge conversion and doubling projects completed and the stations commissioned on the existing lines during the last three years are as under:

Achuara, Ajitkheri, Ajjakallu, Ajra, Amjanga, Arabagatta, Bamanigaon, Banchari, Barh Court, Barhapur, Basampalle, Bayad, Boko, Budhdev Chak Yadav Nagar, Champapur, Chaygaon, Darauli, Deepnagar, Dekpura, Demai, Dergaon, Devaliya, Dhansura, Dhupdhara, Donta, Duan, Dudhnoi, Gandhi Halt, Gangasahai, Gangraul, Gauchhari, Gazole, Gomti Nagar, Gondwana Visapur, Gurazala Gate, Hati, Imli Bigha, Indiranagar, Jagjivan Halt, Jaiprakash Mahuli Halt, Jalalpur,Jamadoba, Jamira, Jaroli, Jath Dumri Jeonara, Jite, Juchandra, Kadki Bazar, Kakdweep, Kamjara, Karatwadi, Karauna, Karauta-Patri, Karimnagar, Karnauti, Kashinagar, Kashipura, Khandeshwar, Khargar, Kharuara, Khutbav, Kolikhad, Kondaprolu, Kotgaon, Kottacheruvu, Kottur, Krishnai, Kukurmara, Mahawan Khor, Mahendralal Nagar, Maheshleta, Malanpur, Mandawali-Chander Vihar, Mirza, Modasa, Mukundwadi, Munshirhat, Narah, Narayanpuram, Navalpura, Neema, Ner, Pagidi Rai, Pamidi, Pangrasindhe, Pantihal, Patel Halt, Petrapole, Pura, Rahiyol Railey English, Ramgovind Singh Mahuli, Rampuri, Ranayal Jasmiya, Rangjuli, Sadala, Sahari, Sarla, Satish Samanta, Shivnai Silakheri, Singra, Somatane, Sri Satyasai Prasanti Nilayam, Sukhpur, Sultanabad, Talcher Jn., Taticherla, Tenari, Tungi, Turkapalli, Udayapur Khurd, Umroli, Vadali, Yedapalli.

(b) & (c): The new Railway stations are constructed as part of projects as per the requirement. Accordingly, stations are proposed to be provided on projects likely to be completed during the current year and during 2003-2004. New stations are also provided on existing lines from time to time based on traffic requirements and other demands. In the State of Gujarat, three new stations, namely, Rajula City Cabin, Pipavav and Somnath are proposed to be provided in next one year period.

(d): Expenditure details are maintained zonal railway wise and not state/region wise. Further, the expenditure incurred on maintenance of stations is also not separately maintained. However, expenditure incurred on maintenance and repairs of all service buildings and approach roads etc. are indicated under relevant minor heads of expenditure under Demand No.4 of the `Demands for Grants for Expenditure of the Central Government on Railways, Part-II` presented annually to the Parliament along with Budget Documents.