## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5061 ANSWERED ON:27.04.2000 GAUGE CONVERSION RAMSINH PATALIYABHAI RATHWA

## Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of metre/narrow gauge rail lines converted/being converted and proposed to be converted into broad gauge during the current five year plan alongwith the expenditure incurred and likely to be incurred thereon, State/zone-wise;

(b) whether there is any proposal to convert metre/narrow gauge lines into broad gauge through private funding; and

(c) if so, the details thereof, State/zone-wise?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI DIGVIJAY SINGH)

(a) to (c): A statement is attached.

STATEMENTREFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (C)FLOK SABHAUNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5061 BY S/SH RAMSINH RATHWA, P.SGADHAVI AND DINSHA PATEL TO BE ANSWERED CONVERSION.

(a): Railways do not maintain information State-wise. However, details of metre/narrow gauge rail lines converted during the 1st 3 years of 9th Plan are as under:-

97-98 Completed Length Zone section (kms)	State
Hassan-Sakleshpur 42 Mysore-Holenaripur 87 Bachwara-Hazipur 71 Kolar-Bangarpet NG 18 Trichy-Thanjavur 50 Jodhpur-Marwar 103 Nagbhir-Chandafort NG 111 Hotgi-Bijapur 97 Jorhat-Furkating loop 67 Railway	Southern Railway Karnataka Southern Railway Karnataka North-Eastern Railway Bihar Southern Railway Karnataka Southern Railway Tamil Nadu Northern Railway Rajasthan South Eastern Railway Maharashtra South Central Railway Karnataka & Maharashtra Northeast Frontier Assam
Shimlaguri-Shivsagar 16	Northeast Frontier Assam
Railway Dronachellam- 185 Mehboobnagar	South Central Railway Andhra Pradesh
Total 847	
98-99 Completed Length Zone section (kms)	State
Dindigul-Trichy 89	uthern Railway Tamil Nadu Southern Railway Tamil Nadu rtheast Frontier Assam
Sheosagar-Moranhat 38	Northeast Frontier Assam
Railway Narkatiaganj-Gorakhpur 159 Railway	North Eastern UP/Bihar

Debugeth Dellevele	11 Quith C			
Babupeth-Ballarshah Railway			rashtra	
Sholapur-Hotgi Railway	15 South C		rashtra	
Indara-Phephna Railway	52 North E	Castern Uttaı	r Pradesh	
Total 690				
1999-2000 Complete section	d Length Zone (kms)	State		
Yeshwantpur- Baiyyapanahalli	17 Souther	n Railway	Karnataka	
Arakkonam- Chengalpettu	63 Souther	rn Railway	Tamil Nadu	
Morbi-Maliya	68 Western	n Railway	Gujarat	
Miyana and Dahinsar to Naulakhi Kashipr Lalkuan 58		Railway Uttar H	Pradesh	
Total 206				
Total 206				
	e/narrow gauge lines	s targeted to b	be converted during 2000-01 are as under:-	
The details of metr	e/narrow gauge lines Guna-Etawah 50 km			
The details of metr 1 Nonera-Bhind of		n Central Ra	ailway	
The details of metr 1 Nonera-Bhind of project	Guna-Etawah 50 km 8 km	n Central Ra n North Easte	ailway	
The details of metr 1 Nonera-Bhind of project 2 Raxaul-Birganj 3 Makum-Dangri &	Guna-Etawah 50 km 8km Amguri-Tuli 45k ridge Diversion 1 k	n Central Ra n North Easte m Northeast	ailway ern Railway = Frontier Railway	
The details of metr 1 Nonera-Bhind of project 2 Raxaul-Birganj 3 Makum-Dangri & 4 Laxmnathirtha B	Guna-Etawah 50 km 8km Amguri-Tuli 45k ridge Diversion 1 k ine	n Central Ra n North Easte m Northeast	ailway ern Railway E Frontier Railway Railway	