GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:549
ANSWERED ON:04.05.2000
DEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS
BRIJLAL KHABRI

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government propose to develop about 114 railway stations as model railway stations in the country;
- (b) if so, whether this plan is a part of modernization programme for improving passenger amenities;
- (c) if so, the names of such railway stations, State/zone-wise;
- (d) the funds earmarked and estimated expenditure likely to be incurred on each station;
- (e) the time by which development work is likely to be started and completed;
- (f) whether the Government are considering to develop more railway stations as model railway stations; and
- (g) if so, the details thereof, State/zone-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (KUMARI MAMATA BANERJEE)

(a) to (g): A statement is laid on the Table of the Sabha.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (g) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.549 BY SHRI BF KHABRI AND SHRI A. VENKATESH NAIK TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.05.2000 REGARDING DEVELOPME RAILWAY STATIONS.

- (a)to(c): In order to provide upgraded passenger amenities at stations, 123 stations have so far been selected as model stations. Appendix-I indicating the names of stations railway-wise is attached. The thrust areas identified for improvement at these stations include:
- (i) Provision of Signages, National Train Enquiry System (NTES), Automatic Vending Machines, Modular Catering Stalls and Self Printing Ticket Machines;
- (ii) Improvement in Waiting Rooms, Retiring rooms, Booking Offices at toilets;
- (iii) Development of the Circulating Area;
- (iv) Making good of the deficiencies of infrastructure facilities/passenger amenities;
- (v) Extension of Foot Over Bridge upto circulating area; and
- (vi) Computerisation of complaints.
- (d): There is no specific allocation of funds for each model station as the facilities specified are improvement in customer interface systems. The railways are authorized to spend money for the purpose of providing upgraded passenger amenities out of the total allocation of funds under the Plan Head `Passengers and other Railway Users Amenities` and `Computerisation`.
- (e): Action has been initiated by the Railways to provide the upgraded facilities at the selected model stations. In fact, certain facilities, like signages, National Train Enquiry System (NTES), computerization of complaints, modular catering stalls, etc., have already been provided at many stations.

(f)&(g): It is proposed to bring 63 more `A` Class Stations(Appendix-II) within the ambit of model station concept during the current financial year thereby the total number of stations selected as model stations will be 186. With this, all `A` Class stations will be covered under the scheme of model stations.

APPENDIX-I

(LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.549 FOR 04.05.2000)

Railway Names of stations

Agra Cantt., Bhopal, Bhusaval, Faridabad, Jabalpur, Jhansi, Mumbai CST, Nagpur, Pune, Solapur Eastern Asansol, Bandel, Barddhaman, Dhanbad, Gaya, Howrah, Malda Town, Mokamah, Nalanda, Patna, Sonarpur, Sealdah Northern Allahabad, Ambala Cantt, Aligarh, Amritsar, Anandpur Sahib, Ayodhya, Bikaner, Chandigarh, Delhi, Dehradun, Firozepur, Haridwar, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Jammu Tawi, Jullundhar City, Jodhpur, Kalka, Kanpur Central, Ludhiana, Lucknow, Moradabad, New Delhi, Shimla, Varanasi North Eastern Barauni, Chhapra, Darbanga, Gorakhpur, Kathgodam, Muzaffarpur, Sonpur, Motihari Northeast Frontier New Alipurduar, Dharmanagar, Dibrugarh, Guwahati, Katihar, Kokrajhar, New Jalpaiguri, New Tinsukia, New Bongaigaon, Silchar Southern Bangalore, Chennai, Chennai Egmore, Coimbatore, Ernakulam, Mangalore, Mysore, Madurai, Palghat, Shimoga, Trichur, Tiruchchirappalli, Trivandrum South Central Guntur, Guntakal, Hyderabad, Hospet, Hubli, Madgaon, Nanded, Rajahmundry, Secunderabad, Tirupathi, Vijayawada, Warangal South Eastern Bhubaneswar, Balasore, Berhampur, Bilaspur, Byree, Badakhandita, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Durg, Golanthra, Kapilas Road, Kharagpur, Khurda Road, Midnapore, Puri, Rahama, Ranchi, Raipur, Rourkela, Surla Road, Tatanagar, Visakhapatnam Western Ajmer, Ahmedabad, Bhavnagar, Chittaurgarh, Dadar, Indore, Jaipur,

RAILWAY-WISE LIST OF STATIONS SELECTED FOR DEVELOPMENT AS MODEL STATIONS

APPENDIX-II

(LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.549 FOR 04.05.2000)

Kota, Rajkot, Surat, Udaipur, Vadodara.

List of `A` Class stations proposed to be selected as Model Stations

Railway Names of Stations

Central Thane, Kalyan, Satna, Mathura Jn., Dadar, Kurla, Chandrapur, Habibganj, Gwalior, Nasik Road, Akola Jn., Katni Jn., Gulbarga.

Eastern Durgapur, Mughalsarai, Danapur, Bhagalpur
Northern Saharanpur, Pathankot, Bareilly, Faizabad, Meerut City, Bhatinda.
North Eastern Basti, Samastipur, Izzatnagar Jn., Manduadih, Gonda Jn.,
Deoria Sadar, Siwan Jn., Hazipur Jn., Rawatpur, Mau Jn.,
Northeast Frontier Kamakhaya, Lumding, Alipurduar Jn., Dimapur
Southern Salem, Quilon, Kanyakumari, Kottayam, Chengannur, Tiruttani,
Cannanore, Pondicherry, Calicut, Chennai Beach, Mambalam
South Central Nellore, Vasco-de-Gama, Kacheguda
South Eastern Chakradharpur, Sambalpur, Adra
Western Vapi, Bandra, Bharuch, Valsad, Mumbai Central, Ratlam, Agra Fort,
Gandhidham, Badshah Nagar