GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RURAL DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2057 ANSWERED ON:16.12.2003 DISTRICTS COVERED UNDER DPAP RUPCHAND MURMU;SRIKANTA DATTA NARASIMHARAJA WADIYAR

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) the number of districts brought under Drought Prone Areas Programme (DPAP), State-wise as on date;

(b) the number of farmers benefited in those States out of DPAP;

(c) whether the Union Government has received any requests from the State Governments to include some moredistricts under the programme during the Tenth Five Year Plan;

(d) if so, the details thereof, State-wise; and

(e) the steps taken by the Union Government in this regard?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI ANNASAHEB M.K. PATIL)

(a): Drought Prone Areas Programme (DPAP) is under implementation in 182 districts of 16 States. A Statementindicating Statewise details is annexed.

(b): Drought Prone Areas Programme (DPAP) is a long term area development programme which is implemented on watershed basis with the objective of drought proofing by rejuvenating the natural resource base. Since DPAP is an area development programme, the resource poor and disadvantaged section of the village community including farmers inhabiting the project area are benefited.

(c) to (e): The blocks under DPAP/Desert Development Programme (DDP) were identified by a High Level Technical Committee ir 1994-95 adopting scientific criteria like rainfall, irrigation, evapo-transpiration, moisture index etc. There is no proposal to review DPAP/DDP coverage at present. Non-DPAP/DDP blocks are, however, taken up for treatmentunder Integrated Wastelands Development Programme (IWDP).

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2057 for answer on 16/12/2003.

Sl.No. State Number of Districts

1 Andhra Pradesh 11 2 Bihar 6 3 Chattisgarh 8 4 Gujarat 14 5 Himachal Pradesh 3 6 J & K 2 7 Jharkhand 14 8 Karnataka 15 9 Madhya Pradesh 23 10 Maharashtra 25 11 Orissa 8 12 Rajasthan 11 13 Tamil Nadu 16 14 Uttar Pradesh 15 15 Uttaranchal 4 16 West Bengal

Total 182