UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1135 ANSWERED ON:09:12:2003 SWAJALDHARA SCHEME ASHOK NAMDEORAO MOHOL;LAXMAN GILUWA;RAM SHAKAL;RAM TAHAL CHOUDHARY;RAMSHETH THAKUR

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) the districts covered under the Swajaldhara Scheme so far, District-wise;

(b) whether the performance of the Swajaldhara Scheme is not up to the mark;

(c) if so, the reasons therefor;

(d) whether the Union Government propose to scrap the scheme;

(e) if so, the scheme prepared by the Union Government to replace the Swajaldhara Scheme to provide the drinking water in the rural areas

(f) the names of States where performance of Swajaldhara Scheme is not satisfactory; and

(g) the directions issued by the Union Government to State Governments for proper implementation of the scheme?

Answei

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI ANNASAHEB M.K. PATIL)

(a) A State/ Union Territory wise list of districts covered under the Swajaldhara scheme so far is annexed

(b)&(c) The Swajaldhara scheme evoked overwhelming response after its launch by the Hon'ble Prime Minister in December 2002 and 20372 proposals were received of which 4744 proposals could be examined and approved by the Government in the year 2002-03. With a view to ensuing timely and effective implementation of the scheme, the power to sanction rural dinking water supply schemes has been delegated to the district level from the year 2003-04. The first instalments for the schemes cleared in the year 2002-03, and for the year 2003-04 have been released recently and the execution of schemes has commenced/is set to commence. Thus, at this stage, it is premature to assess the performance of the Swajaidhara scheme.

(d) No. Sir.

(e) Does not arise

(f) The State/UT wise allocation under Swajaldhara for the year 2003-04 was communicated in June 2003 and the States/UTs were requested to communicate the district-wise allocation and other requisite details immediately so as to enable the Department to release the first instalment. However, the same has not so far been received from Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhatisgarh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim, Andman & Nicobar Islands, Delhi and Pondicherry.

(g) The comprehensive Guidelines on Swajaldhara have been issued in June 2003.

Annexure
State/Union Territory wise list of districts covered so far under Swajaldhara
State Name of districts covered under Swajaldhara
lAndhra Pradesh Krishna, Anantpur, Cuddapah, Karimnagar, Kurnool, Vishakhapatnam, Nizamabad, West Godavari, Medak,Guntur,Adilabad, Rangareddy, Warangal, Srikakulam, Khammam, Mehboobnagar, Chittoor, Vizianagaram
2Assam Halkandi, Kamrup, Kachar, Sibsagar, Karimganj, Goalpara, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Darrang, Golaghat, Morigaon, Nagaon, Nalbari
3Chhatisgarh Kawardha, Korba, Jajgir Champa, Jashpur
4Dadra & Nagar Havel Dadra & Nagar Haveli
5Gujarat Anand, Panchmahal, Sabarkantha, Vadodara, Valsad, Ahmedabad, Banaskantha, Bharuch, Bhavnagar, Junagadh, Kheda, Narmada, Patan
6Haryana Kurukshetra,Ambala,Faridabad,Kaithal,Mahendragarh,Panchakula, Rewari, Sonipat, Rohtak,Jhajjar,
7Himachal Pradesh Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla, Sirmour, Kullu, Solan, Chamba, Bilaspur, Kangra,
SKarnataka Shimoga, Haveri, Tumkur, Raichur, Udupi, Bangalore (R), Bagalkote, Bangalore (U),Belgaum, Bidar, Bijapur, C.R.Nagar, Chickmagalur,Chitradurga, Davanagere, Dharwad, Gadag,Gulbarga, Hassan, Kodagu, Kolar, Koppa
9Kerala Idduki, Malappuram, Kottayam, Thrissur, Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam, Kannur, Kasaragod, Kozhikode, Palakkad,
10Madhya Pradesh Bhopal, Dhar, Tikamgarh, Katni, Mandsaur, Dewas, Khargone, Jhabua, Vidisha, Balaghat,Barwani, Chindwara Jabalpur, Rajgarh,Seoni, Shahdol, Shajapur, Sidhi
11Maharashtra Aurangabad, Buldana, Ratnagiri, Beed, Thane, Oshmanabad,Jalgaon, Nagpur, Ahmednagar, Jalna, Satara, Sangli, Hingoli, Nashik,
12Nagaland Dimapur, Tuensang, Zunheboto
13Orissa Kendrapara, Sambalpur,Dhenkenal, Keonjhar, Bundh, Bolangir, Bhadrak, Bargarh, Malkangiri, Puri, Kandhamal, Jajpur, Deogarh, Cuttack, Angul, Navarangpur, Kalahandi, Koraput, Ganjapati,Jagatsinghpur, Jharsuguda
14Rajasthan Jaipur, Ajmer,Alwar, Banswara, Baran, Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dausa,Dholpur, Dungarpur, Ganganagar, Hanumangarh, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jhunjunu, Jodhpur,

14Rajasthan Jaipur, Ajmer,Alwar, Banswara, Baran, Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dausa,Dholpur, Dungarpur, Ganganagar, Hanumangarh, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jhunjunu, Jodhpur, Karaull, Mandya, Uttara Kannada, Khurda, Mayurbhanj, Nayagarh, Nuapara, Phulbani,Kayagada, Sonepuri, Kota, Nagaur, Pali, Rajasamand, S. Madhopur, Sikar, Sirohi,Tonk, Udaipur, JSTamil Nadu Thirumammali, Shivganga, Jocimbatore, Cuddalore, Puddukottai, Erode, Kanchipuram Dharmapuri, Vellore, Dindigul, Madurai, Virudhunagar, Perambalur, Karur, Theni Villupuram, Selam ramanthapuram, Kanyakumari, Nagaipathiam, Namakkal, Nilgiris, Thanjavur, Thiruchirapalli, Thiruvarur, Thiruvellore, Thoothukudi, Tirunelveli

Kolhapur, Sindhudurg, Yavatmal, Parbhani, Solapur, Pune

16Tripura North Tripura, South Tripura, Dhalai

17Uttar Pradesh Agra, Mahoba, Etawah, Banda, Sonbhadra, Sultanpur, Meerut, Siddharthnagar, Pratagparh,Muzaffarnagar, Balrampur,Unnao,Lucknow,Varanasi,Badaun,Chandauli, Aligarh, Allahabad, Ambedkar Nagar,Auraiya, Azamgarh, Bagpat, Bahraich, Balia, Barabanki, Bareilly, Basti, Bhadohi (Sant Ravidas Nagar), Bijnor, Bulandshar, Chitrakoot, Deoria, Etah , Faizabad, Farukkhabad, Fatehpur, Firozabad, Gautambud Nagar, Chaizabad,Chaizpur,Gonda, Gorakhpur,Hamirpur,Hardoi, Hathras (Mahamaya Nagar), J.Phoole Nagar, Jalaun (Orai), Jaunpur, Jhansi, Kannauj, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Kaushambhi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Lalitpur,Maharajganj Mainpuri, Mathura, Mau, Moradabad, Farouna (K.Nagar), Pilibhit, Raebareli,Rampur,Saharanpur, Sant Kabir Nagar,Shahjahanpur,Shrawasti, Sitapur,

18Uttaranchal Dehradun, Almora, Bageshwar, Chamoli, Champawat, Nainital, Pauri, Pithoragarh, Rudraprayag, Tehri, Uttarkashi

19West Bengal Midnapur, Bardhaman, South 24 Parganas, Coochbehar, Hooghly, Howrah, Jalpaiguri, Malda,