GOVERNMENT OF INDIA SURFACE TRANSPORT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1287 ANSWERED ON:31.07.2000 SETTING UP UNIFIED AUTHORITY ON ROAD SAFETY AVSM, BRIG.(RETD.) KAMAKHYA PRASAD SINGH DEO;VILAS BABURAO MUTTEMWAR;Y.S. VIVEKANANDA REDDY

Will the Minister of SURFACE TRANSPORT be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government are considering to set up unified authority on road safety involving States and the National Highways Authority of India;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether the Government are reconsidering the reconstitution of the defunct committee on road safety; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SURFACE TRANSPORT

(SHRI HUKUMDEO NARAYAN YADAV)

(a)&(b): In the State Public Works Department (PWD) Ministers' Conference held on 12th June, 2000, at New Delhi, formation of *e* unified authority comprising of Highway Authority, State Police and Transport Departments, for highway patrolling and protection of highway assets, was discussed and was unanimously supported by all State Governments. It was decided to form a Committee under the Chairmanship of Minister of State for the Ministry of Surface Transport, to look into this matter and make suitable recommendations.

(c)&(d): The Government of India have re-constituted the National Road Safety Council (NRSC) vide Resolution No.RT-25014/3/97 RSC, dated 17th May, 2000 (Copy Annexed).

(TO BE PUBLISHED IN AN EXTRA-ORDINARY ISSUE OF THE GAZETTE OF INDIA - PART I SECTION I)

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SURFACE TRANSPORT DEPTT. OF ROAD TRANSPORT & HIGHWAYS

RESOLUTION

New Delhi, the 17TH May, 2000

No.RT-25014/3/97-RSC In exercise of the powers conferred under Section 215 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 and in supersession of Resolution No.RT-23019/3/88-T dated 16th May, 1991 as modified from time to time, the Chairman, National Road Safety Council is pleased to re-constitute the Council as under :-

S.No. Particulars No. Brief Remarks

1. 2. 3. 4.

A. OFFICIAL MEMBERS:

1. Union Minister for Surface Transport 1 Chairman

2. Minister of State for Surface Transport 1 Vice-Chairman

3. Minister in charge of Road Transport 32
in the State/Union Territories
(or a representative not below the rank
of Secretary)

4. Director General of Police of States/ 32 Union Territories (or a representative not below the rank of Additional Director General) 5. Representatives of Central Ministries / 7 (i) M/o Home Departments Affairs (ii) Human Resources (iii) Railways (iv) Department of Chemicals & Petrochemicals (v) Department of Industrial Development (vi) Planning Commission (vii) D/o Environment 6. Director General 1 Roads Wing (Road Development), M/o Surface Transport 7. Member Secretary 1 Joint Secretary (Transport)

B. CO-OPTED INSTITUTIONAL / INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS:

8. President / Secretary of Association of India Automobile Manufacturers, Core-4B, Zone-IV, 5th Floor, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi.

9. President / Secretary of Automobile Association of Upper India, C-8, Institutional Area, Behind Qutab Hotel, New Delhi.

10. President / Secretary of Automobile Association of Southern India, 38-A, Mount Road, Chennai.

11. President / Secretary of Automobile Association of Western India, 76, Veer Nariman Road, Church Reclamation, Mumbai.

12. President / Secretary of Automobile Association of Eastern India, 13, Promothesh, Barua Sarani, Calcutta.

13. President / Secretary of Association of State Road Transport Undertakings, 7/6, Sirifort Institutional Area, Khel Gaon Marg, New Delhi-110049.

14. Director, Institute of Road Transport, Tharamani, Chennai-600113.

15. Chairman, National Highway Authority of India, 1-A, Eastern Avenue, Maharani Bagh, New Delhi-110025.

16. Director, Central Road Research Institute, Delhi Mathura Road, Delhi.

17. Director, Central Institute of Road Transport, Nasik Road, Bhosari, Pune.

18. President, Automotive Component Manufacturers Association, 203-205, Kirti Deep Building, Nangalraya Business Centre, New Delhi-110046.

19. President, All India Motor Transport Congress, 16-A, Asaf Ali Road, New Delhi.

20. President / Secretary of Institute of Road Traffic Education, B -128, DDA Sheds, Okhla Industrial Area, Phase I, New Delhi.

21. Chairman, Life Insurance Corporation of India, New Delhi.

2. Terms of Reference and functions of the Council will be :-

(i) to advise on all matters pertaining to planning and co-ordination of policies, practices, standards of safety in the road transport sector;

(ii) to formulate and recommend road safety organizations as also other agencies incharge of road transportation;

(iii) to suggest areas for research and development to improve safety aspects in the road transport sector, including maintenance of statistics of road accidents and their analysis;

(iv) to generally oversee and monitor through Central Level Road Safety Cell the road safety measures undertaken by State / Union Territory agencies.

3. The Council shall decide the procedure and methodology to be adopted for its functioning.

4. The Council will hold its meetings at least once a year.

5. The tenure of the above co-opted institutional / individual members will be for a period of two years from the date of issue of this Resolution.

(ASHOKE JOSHI) SECRETARY TO THE GOVT. OF INDIA